AE power question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AE power question

So I read somewhere that on the Super Duty Cigarette lighter/Power port and the OBD11 port share the same fused circuit. So if I'm understanding this correctly using a Inverter to power the laptop off the Power Port will cause ground loops through the Laptop. Anyone with greater knowledge than me could verify this and if it is true what is needed to safely power up the Laptop?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Claremont, NC
Posts: 545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When it comes to electricity im illiterate, but im installing a cb tonight and I was looking in the owners manual and they do share the same fuse.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:17 AM
<-Day Of Fail now SOLD

 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've got a cigarette lighter port and another power source up buy the radio, and those are on a diffrent fuse. Let me see if I can pull photobucket at work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:18 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 6,091
Thanks: 29
Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lang View Post
So I read somewhere that on the Super Duty Cigarette lighter/Power port and the OBD11 port share the same fused circuit. So if I'm understanding this correctly using a Inverter to power the laptop off the Power Port will cause ground loops through the Laptop. Anyone with greater knowledge than me could verify this and if it is true what is needed to safely power up the Laptop?



I have never had an issue with it... One of those warnings like "hot coffee"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:42 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've always used the inverter with my laptop but never tried yet with the OBD11 plugged in for AE for live. Just don't wanna fry anything. Laptop battery only lasts 30 min.
Thanks guys keep the replies coming.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:32 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,124
Thanks: 13
Thanked 48 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I have used my inverter MANY times while datalogging, but they warn you not to do it because it can fry your OBD-II connector. These pics are from their site.


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:53 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 3,863
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my larger inverter has aligator clips to use on the battery and that is what i use since my laptop battery sucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:25 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Good post Evil Eye, thats what i'm afraid of. Now is there a grounded inverter or something so as not to have a possibilty of it melting the AE wiring or frying the PC. I want to be able to monitor live driving conditions. for longer than my PC battery will allow? I'm thinking of running another Power Port off another power source with an inline fuse. Hoping an electrical Guru will chime in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,981
Thanks: 2
Thanked 96 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I use my Starter Pack, which contains a cigarette socket, to power the inverter when I've logged with my AE. The separate battery ground is isolated from the trucks system so as to avoid the issue..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:41 AM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,391
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
How long is your battery's life? On my trip from tx to nc my 14" lasted the whole way from being suspended to on off cycles. But it wasnt running nonstop tho.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors