Instrument cluster help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Instrument cluster help

Hey, I need to remove my instrument cluster and replace it with a new one and I know there are options out there. Reason I am replacing it is because the engine coolant temp gauge is getting stuck to high and I have to hit the glass to get it down to run normal and one time I shut the truck off and the gauge got stuck for a couple seconds then came down.

So number one please tell me how to get my dash panel off?
How to get my radio out?
And how to replace this cluster especially the orange tang for the auto transmission?
Also the options for instrument clusters?

Thanks for all the help guys I really need to get this done and quick.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am talking to us speedo right now and they said I have to buy the ford cluster first cuz theres is just a overlay kit not the actual cluster. Any other ideas here the cluster was priced at 350 the overlay is 260.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay just talked to tasca ford here in rhode island. He says they are not made anymore and I am getting a rebuilt one and he needs my registration and a bunch of other bs crap. I need some help here where can I find my instrument cluster for this truck. And he priced me at 550 dollars what a joke.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 07:17 AM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 15,151
Thanks: 82
Thanked 477 Times in 461 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auto recycler? Just a suggestion.

You'll have to remove the radio. If the stock one is in there, you'll need those U-shaped tools to remove the radio. In the top of the radio cavity there are two screws that have to be removed. After that, it's pull around the edges to get the bezel to come off. Once tilted out, you'll have to unplug the light switch. Then it should come out of the way. The cluster itself is held in with 4 screws (one per corner) Pull it out being careful of any wiring and watch the shift needle. I think the shift needle is part of the steering column. Anyway just be careful of it.

Good luck.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks man. Us speedo is supposed to call me back he is supposed to find a new one for me somewhere and then I'll just have him put the overlay on it you think that is a good idea or no. You think the overlay is stupid and just stay with the stock gauges.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 07:57 AM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 15,151
Thanks: 82
Thanked 477 Times in 461 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The thing is - Everyone has their own ideas and goals of how they want their truck to look. You should stick with that. It is your truck, your $.

Asking for other opinions....well....you know the story....Opinions are like armpits, everybody has a couple and most of the time they stink.

I've seen some good looking overlays out there, so FWIW, overlays are not stupid.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay thanks for the help much appreciated. I am still waiting to hear back too.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just talked to us speedo this guy named Nick real nice guy awesome service. They are going to send out a used cluster for me. They took down my mileage and they will program the mileage into it. But come the day it arrives in there hands they will ask me again for the mileage. And he said he would put the face plate on for me and ship it out. What do you guys think? Did I make the right move by ordering this. I described all the symptoms to him and he said the gauge is actually on its way to totally failing.

He also said he sees this a lot in the gmc's. Then I told him it only happens in the cold weather only and he totally agreed with this stating that the most common time is the cold weather. I am just nervous about my mileage being programmed into it. I know it won't be accurate. ah.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-09-2010, 01:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 3,251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mileage might not be accurate down to the tenth of a mile, but on a truck that can last upwards of 500K easily, being off even a few hundred shouldn't hurt a thing... but I know, things like that can bug ya sometimes...

Greg

'99 E350 DRW Stahl 11' util box van, 7.3 PSD, stock. 138k SOLD

'00 F350 extcab, 9' utility bed, dually 221k

E'99 F250 extcab, S/Bed 211k

'00 Excursion Limited, 7.3PSD 281k

'84 Chevy K-30, 6.2L TD, woods/trail beater. 141k

Semper Paratus
dieselcrawler is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-10-2010, 05:40 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I know what I'll do is overestimate the mileage when he calls me by about 150-200 miles and hopefully when the plate comes here it should be good. I am just debating the aqua blue face plate seems like a lot of money 260 dollars that sort of sux after just paying 350 but who knows.

Chris
hondaracer315 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome