Instrument cluster help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2010, 07:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Instrument cluster help

Hey, I need to remove my instrument cluster and replace it with a new one and I know there are options out there. Reason I am replacing it is because the engine coolant temp gauge is getting stuck to high and I have to hit the glass to get it down to run normal and one time I shut the truck off and the gauge got stuck for a couple seconds then came down.

So number one please tell me how to get my dash panel off?
How to get my radio out?
And how to replace this cluster especially the orange tang for the auto transmission?
Also the options for instrument clusters?

Thanks for all the help guys I really need to get this done and quick.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-09-2010, 07:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am talking to us speedo right now and they said I have to buy the ford cluster first cuz theres is just a overlay kit not the actual cluster. Any other ideas here the cluster was priced at 350 the overlay is 260.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-09-2010, 08:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay just talked to tasca ford here in rhode island. He says they are not made anymore and I am getting a rebuilt one and he needs my registration and a bunch of other bs crap. I need some help here where can I find my instrument cluster for this truck. And he priced me at 550 dollars what a joke.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-09-2010, 08:17 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 11,931
Thanks: 23
Thanked 132 Times in 126 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auto recycler? Just a suggestion.

You'll have to remove the radio. If the stock one is in there, you'll need those U-shaped tools to remove the radio. In the top of the radio cavity there are two screws that have to be removed. After that, it's pull around the edges to get the bezel to come off. Once tilted out, you'll have to unplug the light switch. Then it should come out of the way. The cluster itself is held in with 4 screws (one per corner) Pull it out being careful of any wiring and watch the shift needle. I think the shift needle is part of the steering column. Anyway just be careful of it.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-09-2010, 08:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks man. Us speedo is supposed to call me back he is supposed to find a new one for me somewhere and then I'll just have him put the overlay on it you think that is a good idea or no. You think the overlay is stupid and just stay with the stock gauges.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-09-2010, 08:57 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 11,931
Thanks: 23
Thanked 132 Times in 126 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The thing is - Everyone has their own ideas and goals of how they want their truck to look. You should stick with that. It is your truck, your $.

Asking for other opinions....well....you know the story....Opinions are like armpits, everybody has a couple and most of the time they stink.

I've seen some good looking overlays out there, so FWIW, overlays are not stupid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-09-2010, 10:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay thanks for the help much appreciated. I am still waiting to hear back too.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-09-2010, 12:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just talked to us speedo this guy named Nick real nice guy awesome service. They are going to send out a used cluster for me. They took down my mileage and they will program the mileage into it. But come the day it arrives in there hands they will ask me again for the mileage. And he said he would put the face plate on for me and ship it out. What do you guys think? Did I make the right move by ordering this. I described all the symptoms to him and he said the gauge is actually on its way to totally failing.

He also said he sees this a lot in the gmc's. Then I told him it only happens in the cold weather only and he totally agreed with this stating that the most common time is the cold weather. I am just nervous about my mileage being programmed into it. I know it won't be accurate. ah.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-09-2010, 02:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mileage might not be accurate down to the tenth of a mile, but on a truck that can last upwards of 500K easily, being off even a few hundred shouldn't hurt a thing... but I know, things like that can bug ya sometimes...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-10-2010, 06:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 499
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I know what I'll do is overestimate the mileage when he calls me by about 150-200 miles and hopefully when the plate comes here it should be good. I am just debating the aqua blue face plate seems like a lot of money 260 dollars that sort of sux after just paying 350 but who knows.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors