Plugging in Block heater questions. GFI? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 04:17 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Plugging in Block heater questions. GFI?

Well, my truck wouldn't start this morning. I am getting an oil change to lighter weight on Friday, and I am going to do the stancor glow plug relay mod soon, but it got a little colder than I thought this morning. 6 degress when I saw the weather I thought they said 22!! Oops. I was going to plug it in, but I just wasn't sure about it. I have never done it before and I can't really find the entire cord to check for holes.

Should I use a GFI like one other poster on this forum mentioned? What kind? All the same?

Anything else I should check? Should I use a certain type of extension cord? Plug in overnight or put on a timer?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2010, 04:42 AM
Retired Soldier!

I use a 12 gauge extension cord, Only use as long as you need to reach the truck. The longer the cord the more resistance, use a timer for 4 hours before you start the truck also.
Old 12-06-2010, 04:48 AM
duct tape & zip ties

Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSGDAVE View Post
I use a 12 gauge extension cord, Only use as long as you need to reach the truck. The longer the cord the more resistance, use a timer for 4 hours before you start the truck also.
That about covers it, but you don't need a timer if you do not want one. I leave mine plugged in from when I get home til I leave my house for the first time the next day.

The two most important thing is this, GFI plug and do not skimp on your extension cord.
Old 12-06-2010, 05:00 AM
Retired Soldier!

I don't use a timer either,but some people feel they need to.
Old 12-06-2010, 05:13 AM