HPOP gauge wiring - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 07:01 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
HPOP gauge wiring

Who has one of these installed?

No problem with the wiring in the cab, but...

When wiring to the HPOP, which sensor do you come off of?

The instructions are a little vague because the gauge works for fuel rail pressure also in several other vehicles.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 10:10 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
i've been curious to see one of these gauges.. bump for your question. btw nice avatar..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE= btw nice avatar..[/QUOTE]


hu?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:29 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just taps into the ICP sensor. Sinister diesel has a pigtail if you don't want to splice your harness.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:15 AM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
The instructions I have didn't say which sensor. I assumed it was the ICP sensor like you said so that is the one I went to first. The wire colors matched the instructions so I figured I was good to go. I tapped into the factory wires and I got nothing. The SES light was on and there was power to the gauge, but the needle never moved once.
That's what prompted the question about which sensor I should use.

So if it is the ICP which two wires? The gray/red stripe is the ground, and the blue/green stripe is the other one I went to. Is that where yours is?

Dietoremain As far as the avatar...thanks bud

Chillls, The avatar is NOTW. Stands for: Not Of This World.
It is a clothing company based on scripture. Colossians ch.2 v.8

NOTW Clothing - Not of This World Apparel, T-Shirts, & Car Stickers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:26 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Easiest was to monitor it is probably with a Scangauge2. Just plug it into the OBDII and you can monitor all sorts of things, read codes, ect. They are in the $130 range.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:37 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
It's the blue wire. You should be able to use the ground on the sensor, but I have mine grounded in the cab.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:44 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Thanks

I think I may move the ground wire to an actual ground also. Hopefully that'll fix it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: in my body...oooh Sacramento California
Posts: 1,420
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE=

Chillls, The avatar is NOTW. Stands for: Not Of This World.
It is a clothing company based on scripture. Colossians ch.2 v.8



cool thanks
i like to know what things stand for sometimes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-31-2010, 01:02 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,351
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
so this gauge didnt come with a sensor itself to plug into the head on an empty port?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors