2 wheel abs, 4 wheel abs, identifying - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2010, 07:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Texas
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 2 wheel abs, 4 wheel abs, identifying

Im about to be purchasing a new wheel hub and noticed when ordering parts you can get the hub made for 2 wheel abs or 4 wheel abs. How do you tell if your truck is 2 or 4 wheel abs before starting disassembly?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
really? well if the truck is 4wd then its 4wd ABS.
2wd, 2wd abs..
do u know the truck as ABS?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The easiest way to tell would be to look at the front spindle and see if there is an electrical wire going to the spindle. The 4wheel ABS trucks will have a wire that goes to a sensor which reads pulses from a toner ring on the hub assembly.

The 2wheel ABS trucks don't have that sensor or the toner ring on the hub.

PS if the truck is 2wheel ABS, its ABS on the rear only... just FYI.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,744
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by partsguy84823 View Post
The easiest way to tell would be to look at the front spindle and see if there is an electrical wire going to the spindle. The 4wheel ABS trucks will have a wire that goes to a sensor which reads pulses from a toner ring on the hub assembly.

The 2wheel ABS trucks don't have that sensor or the toner ring on the hub.

PS if the truck is 2wheel ABS, its ABS on the rear only... just FYI.
Not true... My truck doesn't have 4 wheel ABS, yet it has the ABS sensor in the front hubs, complete with wiring. I know the truck doesn't have ABS because my insurance went up due to it (ABS is a discount), and, well, if you lay on the brakes, the tires lock up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:49 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just buy the 4wd hubs. They are cheaper. Just run the cable up to the frame and zip tie it up.

Edit: Or you can even connect the wiring. Even the 2wd trucks have the wiring, but not the 4wd ABS module.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-23-2010, 09:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Agree, if in doubt buy the hubs for the 4 wheel abs truck. I dunno, my truck has 4 wheel abs, so I just figured that was why it had the sensors, haha. But I guess it would have them even if it was only two wheel abs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-23-2010, 09:21 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All the chassis have pretty much the same wiring to save money.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:47 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Texas
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So if I bought abs wheel hubs for the front and plugged em in, I would automatically have a 4wheel abs truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:56 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, you just have the wiring for it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-24-2010, 04:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Texas
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Dirk!

That's what I was wondering!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors