No Tach while cranking... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No Tach while cranking...

First off, my truck cranks, starts, and runs just fine.

BUT I was reading a post a while back about a 7.3 that was a crank-no start condition. One of the sugestions was that the owner look at his Tach as he was cranking to truck over, the thought being if the CPS was sending signal that the tach would register some reading.

I got curious, and I looked at mine the other day while it was cranking, and the tach stayed at 0 until the engine fired... is this how its supposed to be, or should it move?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:07 AM
2000 f-250 7.3
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: la junta colorado
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to GotDiesel85
yes its normal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,763
Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I think it works like this....

Sometime in like, 2001, the instrument cluster was redesigned and a Trans Temp gauge was added. If you've got the gauge, and an '03 certainly does, then the electronics in the new cluster no longer shows cranking rpm on the tach.

Before that, it's an indication that the sensor (the, infamous, CPS) isn't sending a pulse and therefor Bad...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sweet... yeah, I knew I had the "new" cluster (with the trans gauge). I just didn't know that it wouldnt show cranking RPM. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 05:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,709
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
My tach has never ever moved during cranking, unless it's an extended crank, like when I had a bad battery in the winter and it'd basically crank for 10 seconds and die.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors