New Long Block Installation ?????? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Long Block Installation ??????

Are there a specific set of procedures to follow when starting a new 7.3 long block and if so does anyone know what they are? I am new to diesels so any help is appreciated. Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:01 AM
addicted to diesel
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: hazel green, wisconsin
Posts: 688
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
one thing i can say is to prime the oil rails and the high pressure reservoir with oil by filling them with oil. it will help it start for the first time quicker.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That can be done through the HPOP right? How much oil is needed? The oil that is used to prime the oil rails and HPOP is that in addition to what is used to fill from empty or is that part of the almost 5 gallons it calls for?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:41 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry through the Oil Reservoir not the HPOP. My bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 05:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the resevoir will take about 3qts if i remember correctly, thats in addition to the 15qts that goes into the motor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-07-2010, 06:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
iirc, half quart in the resevior, and almost a quart in each rail. but filling the res will not fill the rails automatically. youll have to crank or preload the rails via access port. i beleive if you overfill the res it will just drain to the crank case... can anyone verify this is correct?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-07-2010, 06:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridiculously_necessary View Post
iirc, half quart in the resevior, and almost a quart in each rail. but filling the res will not fill the rails automatically. youll have to crank or preload the rails via access port. i beleive if you overfill the res it will just drain to the crank case... can anyone verify this is correct?
That's what I understand, it just drains to the pan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-07-2010, 06:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok so I should fill the oil reservoir through the fill plug and fill the oil rails the the oil rail ports before attempting to crank this beast over?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It will fire quicker if you do. Probably run rough for little bit til it purges the air out of the system
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So how much oil should I use in the reservoir? 3 qt or a 1/2 a qt.? Or should I just fill it up to 1" from the top and do the rails separately?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors