PHP chip installed, truck won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2010, 05:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PHP chip installed, truck won't start

Just got my chip the other day and installed the chip after using a brass brush to clean the connection. Now the truck won't start with the chip in, but starts fine with no chip. Tried to reinstall the chip after more cleaning, still no start. Also the service engine soon light comes on (and stays on) with the chip installed. What's the problem here?

Don't take this thread the wrong way, I'm not a dissatisfied customer; I'm probably doing something wrong here. Any advice would be welcome
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:26 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the wait to start light come on while the chip is installed when you first turn the key on? - If not you need to clean the contacts a bit more.

Did you install the chip with the key in the ignition?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If it starts without the key in their needs to be a little more cleaning get a tooth pick and scrape it off Gently. What the chip does is basically override the PCM so if it is starting w/ out the chip then it is a connection issue. I would pull it out again and clean it again. Also leave your keys in the house... If you need more help call Bill or Corey and they will help you out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-15-2010, 07:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Like said above, you just need to get the contacts clean. Fingernail works good & look in the slot on the chip & make sure you didn't get some of the silicone on the contacts of the chip. Good luck, your really gonna like the PHP tunes!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Swampscott, MA
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What everyone's said.

I found that mine didn't start until I had the PCM pushed all the way back into place and bolted back in from underneath the hood.

Once that 10mm bolt went in, the truck started right up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Savannah,Ga
Posts: 2,760
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Agreed clean your contacts again but make sure you dont see any copper if you do your are cleaning to far. Use a toothpick and your fingernail that works the best.

I dont know if you already did or not but I went ahead and cut the plastic PCM case so I could get the chip out without removing the whole PCM everytime.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-16-2010, 03:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the advice. I pulled the PCM and cleaned the contacts completely with a toothpick. Truck started right up wth the chip in and ran great.

100 hp perfromance was probably my favorite all around tune but 120 hp was fun to drive in. Truck idles and shifts way smoother now. Great job Power Hungry Performance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-17-2010, 03:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Smyrna,DE
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Good deal! Sure makes for a different driving experience huh!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cordova, Alaska
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am going through something similar as well. Ive carefully cleaned my computer 3 times now, and my truck will only start on positions 5 and 6. If i let it idle for a bit, i can turn it to position 1, but my truck will only Rev to about 1200 RPM at wide open throttle. Only difference is I ordered Tony Wildmans Tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-18-2010, 01:58 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
man i cant wait to get my php..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors