Newbie Questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2010, 05:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbie Questions

Hello all. I am pretty good with engines but I am a newbie when it comes to both diesels and the forum. I just bought a 2000 xlt 4x4 supercab shortbed. It runs well and seems to be in good overall condition. It does have a mod that i am not sure about and was hoping someone could shed some light.

On the dash between the stearing column and the 4x4 shift knob there is another knob. It has 6 or so settings, 3 of which seem to do nothing except 1 wont let the truck go over 65 mph, and the other 3 at idle will bump the idle up from 700-800rpm to 1500rpm just sitting. I havent really tested all the settings at different speeds etc for fear of damaging something.

I have not been able to locate any brand or name on the knob and have not yet been able to tear into the dash looking. Any ideas of what this might be would help me a great deal. I do not want to damage anything by running on the incorrect setting.

Is there certain information from certain places on the truck that might be good for me to have in asking questions on the forum (Tranny, etc). Thanks

Josh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2010, 05:55 PM
Rangers Lead The Way!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
That is a tuning chip. the one setting that wont let it go over 65 is valet mode. the other one is a high idle setting. good for warming up or keeping AC cold. the rest are horsepower setting. you will notice a difference while driving with those. they are usually 50-75-100-140hp settings
Old 08-28-2010, 06:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie