help with wiring on brake controller box - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2010, 05:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
help with wiring on brake controller box

Need help with the wiring on a brake controller box on a 2001 f-350 single wheel 4x4 manual tranny. The factory wiring harness was cut under the dash and I spliced connectors on it and the brake box. I plugged it up and nothing, so I checked the fuses and relays and all where good. As I was looking around the power distribution box I found 4 wires a blue, a black, a red, and a white wire cut and taped off. I checked for continuity on each wire and they were the wires under the dash for the box. My question is where should these 4 wires hook up on the engine side of the firewall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-21-2010, 06:16 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Blue is the trailer brakes,black is the Hot(power wire),red is the cold side of the brake (non turn signal)white is the ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-22-2010, 06:30 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the reply. I have the box wired up under the dash, I need to know where the wires connect on the other side of the firewall. Some one cut the wire on both sides of the firewall. Do they connect to the pcm or some other relay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-22-2010, 10:11 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,455
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Woah. You are hooked to the wrong wires. Those wires are just a pass-through. That passes through the firewall. There is going to be a 6 connector plug under your dash. There is a pigtail that you can get from Ford that will plug into it then you just need to connect that to your controller. Or you can get an adapter harness from certain brake controller companies that are pre-wired to plug into their controllers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors