AIS install question. AIS owners??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question AIS install question. AIS owners???

I just got my new AIS intake system delivered today and I noticed there is a grey sensor posted in the back of the intake box. I don't remember seeing a wire and connector that hooks into this sensor and I wanted to know if it's okay to just run it without this sensor being connected???

Also, is there a wire and connector that hooks into the filter minder as well? if so, Is it okay to run this also without hooking it up?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Remington, Indiana
Posts: 300
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The grey sensor that your seeing is your Intake air temp sensor, your old air box should of had on in it also. And i'm not sure about hookin up the filter minder, mine is hooked up and i never unhooked it. But if you do leave it unhooked it wouldn't hurt anything just maybe trip the filter restriction light on the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mine being unplugged in my early 99 doesn't do anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-09-2010, 09:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 219
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where did you get it and how much?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-10-2010, 04:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99PSD-White View Post
mine being unplugged in my early 99 doesn't do anything.

The filter minder or the air temp sensor? Or both?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kitchene View Post
Where did you get it and how much?
Ebay. Shipped for $185.00 brand new. They are on Ebay on occasion anywhere between $180-$220

Last edited by E'sStrokr01; 08-10-2010 at 04:29 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-10-2010, 04:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE=E'sStrokr01;2019708]The filter minder or the air temp sensor? Or both?

Well i have never taken off the filter change reminder button, but when I take off the air temp sensor I dont think it does anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Correct.

My question is: Is there a connection to the filter minder itself? Is there a wire that runs to the filter minder or is it just a stand alone gauge attached to the top of the air filter housing????

And finally, if there is a hookup attached to the filter minder, is it okay if it is unhooked, and is it okay if the air temp sensor is unhooked as well.

I will look again more closely but I don't believe I have any wires under the hood that would run to either of these two sensors (filter minder AND air temp sensor), and it appears at a glance that they've been hacked. I haven't been using them obviously with my CAI becuase they don't appear to be there but I wanted to be sure that it's okay to remain unhooked since the new AIS has these sensors already mounted on the box?

Sorry to be confusing and Thanks in advance.

Last edited by E'sStrokr01; 08-10-2010 at 08:17 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 439
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Does anybody know? Is there a hookup (a wire) that runs to the filter minder? Or is it a stand alone gauge? Anybody????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there is no wire that goes to the gauge on top of the filter lid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bnjmnalan
Quote:
Originally Posted by E'sStrokr01 View Post
Does anybody know? Is there a hookup (a wire) that runs to the filter minder? Or is it a stand alone gauge? Anybody????
If it did not have it before, it does not need it now.
I believe later model trucks had a wire that attached, all it did was turn on a dummy light on the instrument panel so you would not have to go to the huge expense and trouble of opening the hood and looking at the gauge. My '00 does not have a wire to the 'filter minder'.

Are you building this truck from scratch or something? If you unpluged a wire when you removed the old filter then you need to plug it back into the new filter, same place it came from it goes back on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors