4x4 HELP - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2010, 06:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: rosamond CA
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 HELP

easy question.....so the front hubs are vacume driven with the shift on the fly switch..... but if i lock my front hubs in and turn the switch, the transfer case is not vacume driven right? that part is just electrical?

(so if i have a vacume leak in my system my transfer scae should still lock in with the switch correct?) as long as my hubs are locked in i should be in 4x4 all day?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-18-2010, 06:33 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here's a thread worth your time reading. There is a link to a tech sheet too.

Please help! AC has a mind of its own.

Last edited by Hank; 07-18-2010 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-18-2010, 06:49 AM
O.I.F. Combat Vet 11B
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: tallahassee
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
yes if you manually lock in your hubs and push the button for 4wheel drive you will have 4wheel drive. Make sure you plug up your leak or just bypass the whole 4wheel drive part so you don't burn up your vacuum pump.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-18-2010, 07:41 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: rosamond CA
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ahh i c thanks guys. I dont have a problem with my ac though, only when i turn the 4x4 switch is when the air gets messed up etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-18-2010, 08:18 AM
O.I.F. Combat Vet 11B
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: tallahassee
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Have you looked for the leak?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-18-2010, 10:15 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: rosamond CA
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no not yet. im just assuming its the hoses cuz they are cracked out a bit and look old. i need some braided ones that are longer to acount for my lift.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors