Custom chips (programs) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:06 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hanford
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Custom chips (programs)

A bit of a question I hope someone can answer. For custom programmed chips, can (does) the programmer have control over shift points? As in when the truck will shift, etc?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,373
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I want to know too, thats why I am looking at an sct of some kind cause they do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:21 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hanford
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I ask being I have a 6 position chip now, and in all driving modes, for some reason, the truck is shifting from 2nd to 4th. I removed the new chip and made a run without, and the truck shifted fine though all gears, and normal. I put my old banks powerpack module in, and the truck shifted normal. I put the new 6-p chip in, and it's back to shifting from 2nd to 4th. The only time I can feel it's in 3rd is when I was slowing down for a turn, get though turn and I feel it shift from 3rd to 4th then into OD.

I've asked for direction from the programmer, I don't know if he is in, on leave, or what. No response as yet.

In the mean time, is this going to hurt my trans? Or should I remove the 6-p chip until this gets resolved?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-27-2010, 11:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's odd. I would definitely remove it till you get it resolved just to be safe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-27-2010, 12:07 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hanford
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That sucks a bit. The thing moves like a ra%@d Ape with it. The shift from 2nd into 4th though drops the rpms down below 1700, so it works very hard (EGTs move FAST) until OD kiks in. Great sound. There are a few here that get big eyed seeing this 550 get up and went.

glad I cut my PMC cover for easy access if I need to go to Ford.

Guess removing it for now will also save on some fuel toooooo. But I would prefer the tuner reply.

Question, would the AE program be of any assistance in this? If so, what peramiters should I set it to, to record?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-27-2010, 12:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, you can watch the shift points on AE. I would probably log the rpm and shift points
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-27-2010, 01:14 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hanford
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I will do that on each program, and e-mail the programmer the file. Might help get this beast shifting correctly without having the programmer make guess's. The more we can help them, the better of a product we get.

I can only guess that the weight difference in like an F250 program, to an F550 may be off a bit, and maybe causing this as it was an after thought?

Thanks again. But anyone ells want to chime in, please do so.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-28-2010, 05:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brickhouse View Post
Thanks, I will do that on each program, and e-mail the programmer the file. Might help get this beast shifting correctly without having the programmer make guess's. The more we can help them, the better of a product we get.

I can only guess that the weight difference in like an F250 program, to an F550 may be off a bit, and maybe causing this as it was an after thought?

Thanks again. But anyone ells want to chime in, please do so.
I wonder if your rear gear is different than what the programmer is programmed for and causing the problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-28-2010, 08:42 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hanford
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Possible. Mine is 4:88. Not a standard seen for 250's and 350's. Also, the 4R100HD may have a different setup or programming for these big rigs that is also effecting shift point programming. I hate guessing though. It's not the VB for sure. Had same situation but really hard shifts (old VB had a shift kit), so I ordered up and installed a John Wood VB. Very sweat shifting now (with exception of 2nd to 4th that is).

I have my PC in the truck, and will record the runs this afternoon or tomorrow. I e-mailed him again, but still no reply. I don't want to send a large file or two if he's not ready to receive it. Don't want to overload his inbox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors