Where to place boost gauge? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

View Poll Results: Where are you placing your Boost Gauge?
T into the map line 3 33.33%
Drill/Tap into the Y pipe 4 44.44%
Delete AIH and install it there 2 22.22%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
SJB
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where to place boost gauge?

I'm getting ready to order my Isspro gauge kit, but I was curious where the majority of you are installing your Boost fitting? I've tried doing searches and found 1. T it into the map line. 2. Drill and tap into the Y-pipe 3. Delete AIH and install it there. I've read about some problems with gauge fluctuations using the map line, but obviously this is the easiest install. Where are most of you installing yours? If you do have problems with fluctuations using the map line, I assume it is as simple as replacing the T with a union in the map line, and just install it in one of the other two places?
SJB is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 02:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Mikey's250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Savannah,Ga
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
MAP line is definitly the easiest and I assume it is accurate. I bought a new set of taps so I figured what the heck might as well drill it. Mine doesnt flucuate at all in the intake, real smooth operation
Mikey's250 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
SJB
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey's250 View Post
MAP line is definitly the easiest and I assume it is accurate. I bought a new set of taps so I figured what the heck might as well drill it. Mine doesnt flucuate at all in the intake, real smooth operation
Is it a PIA to get the Y-Pipe out and re-install it?
SJB is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Mikey's250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Savannah,Ga
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJB View Post
Is it a PIA to get the Y-Pipe out and re-install it?
Not a big pain, it just sucks trying to get the the lower intake boot clamps. But I didnt take mine off to put it in
Mikey's250 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
yeah just get on top of the engine and they arent too hard to get those boots. just take your time.
Dietoremain is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:11 PM Thread Starter
SJB
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey's250 View Post
Not a big pain, it just sucks trying to get the the lower intake boot clamps. But I didnt take mine off to put it in
You were able to have enough room to drill and tap it with it in the truck? All the tap installs that I have seen showed it on the back side towards the firewall, which looked like a PIA to access unless you pulled it out. What about shavings falling inside?
SJB is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Mikey's250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Savannah,Ga
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJB View Post
You were able to have enough room to drill and tap it with it in the truck? All the tap installs that I have seen showed it on the back side towards the firewall, which looked like a PIA to access unless you pulled it out. What about shavings falling inside?
I put grease on the bit and the tap and it held all the shavings. Im bout to get a picture of where I put mine
Mikey's250 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:27 PM Thread Starter
SJB
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the feedback so far. I finally just went and looked at what this MAP line is. I didn't realize it was strictly a piece of rubber hose that could be easily replaced. Now that I know that it is just a piece of rubber hose that I can get anywhere, I think I will start with the MAP line install first. Then if I find I have any fluctuations in the gauge, then I will switch over to the drill/tap install.
SJB is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Mikey's250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Savannah,Ga
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJB View Post
Thanks for the feedback so far. I finally just went and looked at what this MAP line is. I didn't realize it was strictly a piece of rubber hose that could be easily replaced. Now that I know that it is just a piece of rubber hose that I can get anywhere, I think I will start with the MAP line install first. Then if I find I have any fluctuations in the gauge, then I will switch over to the drill/tap install.
Yeah you can get rubber hose anywhere if you fudge it up somehow . Here is where I put mine anyways
Mikey's250 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-25-2010, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
SJB
Compression Ignition Addict
 
SJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey's250 View Post
Yeah you can get rubber hose anywhere if you fudge it up somehow . Here is where I put mine anyways
Thanks for the picture.
SJB is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome