Harmonic Balancer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 05-09-2007, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Harmonic Balancer

I got my new Fluidampr and can't wait to install but want to make sure about the threads for the bolt that holds it on. Are they a standard RH thread or are they LH. Would hate to strip/break that sucker.

Thanks,

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bump........

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 06:13 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure John, did they send you bolts with it. They should have and they should be what it takes.

Logan is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My factory bolt will work for the new balancer, but I want to make sure I turn the right way to loosen.

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 06:20 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think when ever you change that out, you need to change the bolts out too. Thats what I have heard and read anyway. I have not done one my self. I also think they are standard threads.

Logan is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll have to look into that. Thanks Logan.

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 12:55 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sure thing, maybe someone that has actually put one in can give you a little more insite on it compared to someone that has just read several things about it.

Logan is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 
MrJohnWayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waller/Magnolia
Posts: 9,604
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've talked to mark about it. I didnt realize the 6.0's used 4 bolts to hold the balancer on vs. the 7.3 (mine) which uses one. He said you were right though on the 6.0's you should replace the bolts.

John Wayne
Owner and Operator of the
REDNECK VALDEZ
You can find me on FaceBook
MrJohnWayne is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 01:45 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh Ok, cool, so I guess we were both right

Logan is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-10-2007, 03:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 2,083
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would still replace the bolt and tap the threads. I'm sure ARP makes a bolt.

If your gonna do it,do it right
Performance Oil Products is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome