Harmonic Balancer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2007, 12:49 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Harmonic Balancer

I got my new Fluidampr and can't wait to install but want to make sure about the threads for the bolt that holds it on. Are they a standard RH thread or are they LH. Would hate to strip/break that sucker.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-10-2007, 05:55 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Bump........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:13 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure John, did they send you bolts with it. They should have and they should be what it takes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:17 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
My factory bolt will work for the new balancer, but I want to make sure I turn the right way to loosen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:20 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think when ever you change that out, you need to change the bolts out too. Thats what I have heard and read anyway. I have not done one my self. I also think they are standard threads.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:47 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
I'll have to look into that. Thanks Logan.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-10-2007, 12:55 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sure thing, maybe someone that has actually put one in can give you a little more insite on it compared to someone that has just read several things about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-10-2007, 01:02 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
I've talked to mark about it. I didnt realize the 6.0's used 4 bolts to hold the balancer on vs. the 7.3 (mine) which uses one. He said you were right though on the 6.0's you should replace the bolts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-10-2007, 01:45 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh Ok, cool, so I guess we were both right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-10-2007, 03:24 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 2,083
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would still replace the bolt and tap the threads. I'm sure ARP makes a bolt.

If your gonna do it,do it right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors