axle removal and hub upgrade questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
axle removal and hub upgrade questions

ok so first of all im trying to do my ball joints right now and every thing is off and out of the way execpt my axles shafts, ive been looking at them for ever and cant figure out how they come out, is there a llittle snap ring or somthing that im missing ??? and also when in the process of taking off my drivers side looking hub i ended up breaking it to pieces to get it out. should i just buy another stock or what are my options for upgrading ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: La Motte Iowa
Posts: 379
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well get a set of aftermarket hubs from warn there cheaper and stronger than the stock. as far as the axle shaft goes there is just a seal that holds it into the steering knuckle so you have to just pull it out. there may also be some rust making this more difficult.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:24 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so does that mean i prety much gotta ruin the seal to get the axle out ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: La Motte Iowa
Posts: 379
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes you will need the axle seals and also hub orings and axle tube seals also. if your lucky you can get it out without ruining the seal but i would replace them otherwise you may have a vacuum leak. if you have electric shift 4x4. if its manual i would worry as much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-29-2010, 12:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so if i have the manual shift 4x4 do i even have to worry about putting new ones ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors