Switched electrical power - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Switched electrical power

I am trying to wire up my 08 center console i am putting in my 03 f350. I want the outlets to be on switched power and not on all the time. Anyone know where i can find a wire to tap?
maelawncare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 11:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
There should be some wires taped up by your master cylinder that say "Customer Access". You might need to add a fuse to get them to work. Or, you can bring the truck by my place and we can start poking around with my multi-meter. Seen it out a few times now... looks good with the graphics.

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are these the wires you are talking about? I couldnt find anything that says customer access. Although i did find a fuse a while back for customer access. It already has the fuse in it.

I do have some zip tied to the master cylinder but they plug into it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	004.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	94.9 KB
ID:	14187  
maelawncare is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anybody else?
maelawncare is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 07:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Austinj427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would start poking around with a meter.
Austinj427 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well none of those 4 wires worked. hmmm
maelawncare is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 08:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Those would be the 4 wires. Might want to double check you have the fuse in or that it isn't blown.

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I checked the fuse. It says its a 10amp and it is in there and not blown.

I started up the truck and used a wire with a light on it to try and figure out which one. None of them light it up.
maelawncare is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 09:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Weird. Do you want it to always have power or just when the key is on?

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-25-2010, 09:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When the key is on. I want to leave things plugged in without training the battery.
maelawncare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome