rev limiter? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2010, 04:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
rev limiter?

I have a late 1999 7.3 and when i put my foot to the floor it gets to 2500 rpms then almost seems like it hits a rev limiter and wont shift untill i let off it... i just purchused the truck a couple weeks ago and it has a programer in it but the guy lost the actual handheld thing and forgot what kind of chip it was so im taking it to a dealer in the next few weeks to get it reflashed. then i plan on buying a custom chip. so my question is will a custom chip take this rev limiter out?
thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-18-2010, 06:52 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
shouldnt be like that. your rev limiter should be the redline. :\
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-18-2010, 10:13 PM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
I think you've got some other issues. Rev limiter is set around 3500, not 2500.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-18-2010, 10:20 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,382
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
jason, please post the cost of a reflash. i was debating on getting my early 99 reflashed for the newer software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-18-2010, 11:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like either the computer is reading wrong, or the trans is on the way out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 03:57 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yea thats what i thought myself the tranny seems to shift fine but i am going to pull the chip and then see what it does... and im not sure the price to get it reflashed i am just gonna take it there and see
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors