Purchase a 6.0 or 7.3 ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 07:06 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Purchase a 6.0 or 7.3 ??

Hello all...I'm a newb to diesels but have been doing my research. I'm looking for a vehicle to pull my car and my ski boat. I've always wanted a Ford and def a powerstroke, so this is def the truck for me. However...Do I go with the 6.0 or 7.3? Whichever truck I get i'm looking to spend 18-23k and assume i'll get one with 90,000 miles give or take. I'm aware that the 7.3 is a solid motor, so If I could do I find one with lower miles do I get that? What negatives are there to look out for? Or do I buy a 06-07 6.0 and drop a few thousand extra to get the headgaskets redone with ARPs and get the EGR delete? Whatever truck I get I plan on doing a 4" or 5" exhaust and a tuner with with middle of the road tunes (nothing too crazy..but something a little extra).

Thanks for any help.

JJT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2010, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to southern7.3
Well either choice will be a good choice. Just know that when you purchase a 6.0 you will have to address the issues concerning the egr and headgasket/studs. After that with proper supporting mods ex. gauges, exhaust, good tuner, you will make plenty of power.

The 7.3 is just a good ole truck. Not many problems, it does have a few, being the cps, pmr's.... but it takes a lot of money to get them to run with the 6.0s

I believe the 6.0 tend to get a little better fuel economy. Thats what I have experienced.

Good luck with your choice and Welcome to the .Org!!!
Old 04-12-2010, 07:14 AM
addicted to diesel