Hubs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2010, 07:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hubs

just bought an 03 7.3 with warn locking hubs. it has the dial switch in the cab. my question is when i go to put it in 4wd do i turn the hubs to lock then turn the switch or???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:21 PM
IBEW Journeyman Lineman
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Union, MO/ Pomona, CA
Posts: 772
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Yes you will need to lock the hubs first. It will probably still work if you turn the switch first and then lock the hubs, but you won't have 4x4 without locking the hubs since you have the Warns. Took me a while to figure out that the Warns don't operate with the vac. switch and must be locked in everytime.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
yup figured that one out after i almost burried myself in snow lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-28-2010, 07:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok well if i lock the hubs in and then put the switch to 2wd will i be in 2wd then?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-28-2010, 07:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: west covina, CA
Posts: 1,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes all it will do is spin your front drive shaft..because the hubs are locked and the tires are moving so it will spin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-28-2010, 09:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pulaski VA
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You should check to make sure they plugged the vacuum lines properly when they converted to warn hubs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any pics of that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors