4WD Problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 01:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus County, FL
Posts: 446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stroked7.3
4WD Problems

So i put my front shaft back in today and went to test the 4x4 out and its not kicking in HI or LO. All the lights come on in the dash. Im wondering if the actuator is going out. It wont work in Auto or with Manually locking the hubs. BTW I have Eletronic shift on the Fly Transfer Case.

Is there a fuse anywhere that controls the actuator or is it just fried and i need a new one?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:19 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 102 Times in 97 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroked7.3 View Post
So i put my front shaft back in today and went to test the 4x4 out and its not kicking in HI or LO. All the lights come on in the dash. Im wondering if the actuator is going out. It wont work in Auto or with Manually locking the hubs. BTW I have Eletronic shift on the Fly Transfer Case.

Is there a fuse anywhere that controls the actuator or is it just fried and i need a new one?

Thanks
Is the plug connected at the transfer case?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus County, FL
Posts: 446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stroked7.3
Yes the plug is connected. Anymore ideas guys?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am very interested in the solution here. I aam having a similar problem, but included is my instrument panel is not showing the 4 X 4 or LOW.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
on my 99 it ended up being the plug somewhat corroded and not connecting. unplugged it cleaned all terminals and it fixed it. hope it helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have a look at some of the posts that I have posted and the responses, it is under 4x4 problems. There is alot of good information there. Let me know if it does not work and I will try to forward you the posts. Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus County, FL
Posts: 446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stroked7.3
So I hear a click when i turn the switch to 4HI then it sounds like a pump is running bhind the glove box but yet still no 4wd with hubs locked or in auto?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-23-2010, 10:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: texas/mississippi
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is the plug clean???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-23-2010, 11:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Citrus County, FL
Posts: 446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stroked7.3
Yes the plug was clean. I got the 4x4 to work manually by getting out and locking them. Als by replacing 1 of my hubs. Cant seem to get the auto to work though, whih means vacumm leak? Correct? Where do i heck for this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-24-2010, 07:04 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stroked7.3 you are right you have a vacumm leak, look at all your lines fron the front diff to the pump which should be on the passengers fender. When you turn the key on the pump will start you should be able to find where the leak is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors