Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

My New 7.3! MPG Questions??

6K views 40 replies 18 participants last post by  mclarengts 
#1 ·
Here Is my new 2003 7.3. I just got it monday, and now Ive been through a full tank of gas about 280miles on one tank, or 11mpg. Im totally new to trucks, especially diesels. As far as I can tell it have a Banks waste gate I beleive. It says banks Big head on it. It has 375/55/16 Mickey Thompson ATZs on it. the exhaust does not look stock. It also has a volant intake on it. I dont know if there are any other upgrades. also it is lifted, but I dont know how much.

I would like to know about some options that I have as far as getting better MPG. sorry that I dont have more info Im new to this. If you need more pics of certain things let me know ill post them.

See less See more
#2 ·
Congrats on the new truck. The 7.3 will definitely not let you down. As far as MPG, a tuner with an economy setting would help you out with a few mpg's, as long as you can keep your foot out of it. The big tires of couse are not helping out with your gas but the truck looks very clean on the isnide and out.

#3 ·
I guess if I were you I'd see if it's got some sort of tuner or chip in it. Looks like it's pretty custom with all the gauges might have it on a tow mode

#4 ·
I have a 99 with the same eng.. If you keep it blow 2000 RPM it will help and also check the gears some trucks came with 4.10 for towing I have just the edge EVO and I get in the summer @ 18mpg and winter @ 15mpg that is mixed driving and I do run AmsOil in every thing maby a fluid change a clean the air filter....Like the edge but can find other great programers out there also..

Shon

#5 ·