6Spd or Auto Tranny? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2007, 12:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6Spd or Auto Tranny?

Hi Folks

Somewhat of a newbie here, been shopping the past month or so for a 99/2000 7.3 PSD. I was pretty much set on a standard cab XL (no bells and whistles) 6spd with less than 130K on the clock. Then recently found a 2000 automatic with more miles (186K) but looks nicer (Chrome bumpers, split seats, carpet, alloy wheels, etc...) and is a little more expensive.

Here's the thing, I know from my research the manual gets better mpg. It's a little less complicated and clutches run anywhere from 100-160 some odd miles before replacement. When you do replace them the average cost seems to be ~$800 for a plain jane stock replacement.

I've heard stories about people loosing the transmissions in the automatics and the associated cost is quite expensive to replace (I've seen people mention $2500 and up on the boards) with a rebuild or totally new one from one of the powerstroke sponsors. I've also read the automatics get a little worse mileage than the manuals.

So my question is (and I know I'm going to have to look and drive both before making a decision) should I zero in on one or another? It'll be a Daily driver and work truck (by work truck I mean trips to the dump, hauling wood, mulch, pulling the occasional dingo, etc...) I pretty much prefer a manual over the auto any day, but the manual 7.3 psd I drove seemed like a beast. Haven't driven an automatic yet (going to do that today if I can) and see what the differences are. Can anyone give me some guidance?

Thanks - sorry for the long post...

Cletus