Disabling my Diesel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:35 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Disabling my Diesel

I park my truck for up to three weeks at an unsecured parking area near an airport. I'm concerned about it getting stolen. I would feel more comfortable if I were easily able to do something under the hood to make the truck unstartable and hard to figure out why.

As an example, on my gas truck and just change the postion of a couple wires on the distributor. Kills it dead, unless someone were to tow it or have lots of time on there hands for troubleshooting.

There must be something I can do quickly and easily to my F350.

Any ideas??

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:40 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One thing you could do is put a Master Switch on it. We have them on Ambulances and Fire Trucks, no power to the entire thing until you flip the master. I am not sure the best place to put it, but I am sure someone would know.

Also, I know some chips have a no start program in them, might be something to think about if you have the money and the time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:48 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by brrs3633 View Post
One thing you could do is put a Master Switch on it. We have them on Ambulances and Fire Trucks, no power to the entire thing until you flip the master. I am not sure the best place to put it, but I am sure someone would know.

Also, I know some chips have a no start program in them, might be something to think about if you have the money and the time.

Thanks for the ideas, the truck came with a chip and I'm happy with it, so I hate to buy another chip. I'm really looking for something that doesn't take a lot of expense and installation, if that is possible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-03-2007, 05:27 AM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I understand, maybe one of the techs will be along shortly and have a good idea for ya. I know there is an easy way to do it on the 6.0s, but not really sure about the 7.3s.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-03-2007, 05:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is it possible to pull the fuse to the fuel pump?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-03-2007, 10:48 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
I know you can pull the fuse for the ignition switch. I don't remember which on it is but it is a maxi fuse in the fuse block under the hood. Look in your owners manual and it'll tell you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:51 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Now we're talking!!! I like the fuse pulling idea, that one would definitely frustrate a would be thief.

Thanks for a great idea!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:54 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there is a starter relay on the passanger side by the battery. Take the small wire off of the terminal. It just slides on...no bolt or anything...it wont crank then....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-03-2007, 01:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kannapolis NC
Posts: 525
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
believe it or not these trucks will run with the fuel pump fuse pulled. I drove mine home about 20 miles this morning with a shot fuel pump and a blown fuse...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-03-2007, 01:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 457
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
lol now how does that happen?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors