would air in my fuel system cause this???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 06:32 PM
addicted to diesel

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question would air in my fuel system cause this????

ok so a little info ive had a miss and injector cackle going on. i noticed tonight that when i went to start it i listened to the fuel pump and it kinda sounded like there was something like air going threw it. my question is if air is getting in there can it cause a miss? im still kinda new to diesels. if there is air getting in im assume its gettin in where the fuel line connects to the pump cause i replace the pump cause i though it was bad. i still have the oem one that i kept for a spare. the issue when i replaced it was the power wire was groundin out on a bracket that it had rubbed threw the wire. sorry for babling any info would be helpful. thanx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2010, 06:35 PM
duct tape & zip ties

Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Yes poor fuel supply can cause a miss and poorly running engine. It is possible you are sucking air with the fuel pump.
Old 01-10-2010, 06:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Order the pre-pump/tank kit from diesel innovations and it possibly could eliminate your problem. I did mine and the truck is so much quieter it dont even sound the same.
Old 01-10-2010, 07:05 PM
addicted to diesel

Well im gonna try putting my original pump in and see what happens. the stuff in that kit i can buy at the local hardware store if i can figure out the sizes if compression fitting and fuel line they use for cheaper than they want for it. though i will keep that in mind if i can't figure out the sizes and the oem pump doesnt cure it.
Old 01-11-2010, 04:58 AM
addicted to diesel