reprograming for bigger tires? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2007, 11:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pearsall,TX
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
reprograming for bigger tires?

Has anyone took their truck to the dealer to get it reflashed for bigger tires? Jody at DP suggested I do this to help with the shifting. He said they can do it for up to 35 inch tires. I called the dealer and they said they might be able to and quoted $75 to $195! Don't mind the $75 ....but $195!? Any experiences with this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-02-2007, 04:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 204
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
watch ebay and pick up a SUperlift truspeed. it is a simple 4 wire install and you can adjust it if you ever go to larger tires, plus you can flip a switch and run stock or A second set of tires.

It also compensates for gear ratio changes.

it changes the impulses frrom the ABS sensor to adjust the timing and speedo so engine and tranny and abs all function properly.

new they run 190 and you can always remove it and the truck will go back to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 6,076
Thanks: 29
Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dealer can do it for about an hours shop time... Its not hard, they just dont do it that often... FYI the truespeed is a PIA to install and you can only ajust the size something like 5 times...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 204
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the truspeed has no limit on times it can be used. and is a power and ground wire and you cut you abs wire and connect the truspeed inline with the wire. takea about 30 min to install . I even have a link that walks you threw it.

All dealer can do it, some choose not to and chage a hefty shop rate to do so. In my case i ran 38 inch tires and 40s and just took a flip of the switch to change between them. and when i sold my truck just remove teh truspeed and all is back to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 204
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
he link

Superlift TruSpeed ratio converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-03-2007, 10:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pearsall,TX
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'll definately get one of those before I pay the dealer $195.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 204
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the only real pain i guess is calibrating it.

If you have a GPS you can barrow it is pretty easy.

Just drive down the road and match the speed on the speedo to the GPS. if it is off you turn the screw 1/4 turn go about a mile and keep adjusting as needed.

you need to go about a mile as the GPS is usually a little slow to relay the speeds. so you need to give it a little time to catch up.

I just go on a back road with little traffic or get on the highway and set the cruise at 55-65 mph.

and i just keep the unit close enough to me to adjust or have a friend hany
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:51 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a buddy at the dealer do mine, it didn't take. I will be getting one of these to solve my problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors