Leveling Kit questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 01:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Leveling Kit questions

All, I'm new to this diesel world but not to the world of 4x4's.
I've recently purchased an '01 250 Crew cab and absolutely love this truck in the 3 weeks that I've had it although I've only put 350+ miles on it thus far.

The truck came with 265/75/16's on the stock 16x8 polished wheels and are
going to need to be replaced some time after the 1st of the year.
I've been doing my homework and found that I can run up to a 305 with minimal rubbing without any type of lift. I probably will end up with a 285 or 295 tire for now.

My question is I'm sick of "driving down hill" all the time. I'm looking to put a leveling kit on the front of this rig and I'd like to do it before I spend $ on a new set of tires. I've looked at all the different manufacturers and we all know that everybody has the best thing since sliced bread out there on the market.

What I'm trying to do is narrow it down between a few brands that I've found to be better (IMHO). I want to keep the stock ride so I've been leaning towards the hanger systems instead of add a leafs (I've had those and I know what that does to ride quality).

So my question out of all the manufacturers out there which one is the best? I've looked at ProComp, Rough Country, Icon, Fabtech and a couple more that I can't remember the names of. Now let's face it some of these kits look like complete crap! They look like they've been pressed out of sheet metal.

I like the Icon stuff but man they're proud of those babies. Top Gun has the Pro Comp 3" w/shocks for $300+ which isn't too bad.
How about the Rough Country stuff? Is anybody running that kit? Fabtech how is their stuff?