where is the ecu - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2009, 02:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: farmington michigan
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where is the ecu

Hey guys im goin with my dad to pull a diesel from a donor truck. i want the ecu from it for a future project, and honestly i was wondering where the heck is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-11-2009, 05:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you're refering to the PCM or ECM it's located at the drivers side kick panel around the emergency brake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 05:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: farmington michigan
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes sorry i just generally refer to it as the ecu. thankyou.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
10mm bolt from under the hood will take it loose. the connector is under the hood and the computer is in the cab.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-12-2009, 03:57 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyDBall View Post
10mm bolt from under the hood will take it loose. the connector is under the hood and the computer is in the cab.
My words exactly!!! make sure the one you pull hasn't been opened, otherwise it may have a tune instead of the stock program, unless this doesn't matter to you?

NCH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-12-2009, 09:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: farmington michigan
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well i am planning on a 7.3 in an expedition. but cant the dealer re flash it for me if need be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors