My 4WD is not working :mad: - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 11:53 AM Thread Starter
Member

 
speed_racer_801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 4WD is not working :mad:

I have a 2000 F350 CC chassis cab and my 4WD is not engaging at all. No dummy light on the dash, not noises from the tcase engaging the front axle, nothing. I have the shift on the fly dash knob and stock ford hubs that have both locked and auto positions and I have tried it both ways. Any ideas?
speed_racer_801 is offline  
post #2 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 11:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,030
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
This manual shift or electric?

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 11:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
drstephennix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dickinson, TX
Posts: 3,977
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to drstephennix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaairman View Post
This manual shift or electric?
Electric shift on fly as stated in 1st post.

Do you have a vaccuum leak?

2012 F-350 CCSB Lariat 4x4
2 1/2" leveling kit
35" Nitto Trail Grappler M/T's
S&B CAI
6.7 Scorpion
103k miles
Back in the diesel game!




In the words of David Crockett, "You may all go to hell. I will go to Texas!" spoken in the halls of congress; circa 1830's
drstephennix is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Member

 
speed_racer_801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I looked under the hood to try and find the solenoid, but couldn't see it. On my sport trac it was on the dr side inner fender , if you point me to the location so I can check it, I would be grateful. Wouldn't have putting the hubs in lock have solved that problem though?
speed_racer_801 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 12:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Zaairman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 3,030
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by speed_racer_801 View Post
I looked under the hood to try and find the solenoid, but couldn't see it. On my sport trac it was on the dr side inner fender , if you point me to the location so I can check it, I would be grateful. Wouldn't have putting the hubs in lock have solved that problem though?
It's on the passenger side fender, by the vacuum reservoir. And yes, locking them manually would have fixed it. Check the connections at your switch.

Zach
2000/2006ish Ford F-250 Larryette 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4
5" Sewer Pipe Exhaust (video clip), DIY 6637 Intake, Wicked Wheel'd, De-foiled, Missing EBPV, Edge Juice with Attitude, Few leaves added here and there, 35" BFGs, 16x10 Eagle Alloys, Alpine W200

SLAPS Member #153
Zaairman is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
Member

 
speed_racer_801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the switch just pull out of the dash, or will I need to remove the whole dash?
speed_racer_801 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 12:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Something else must be wrong if you dont have any dash lights. If you switch it with the engine off can you hear the transfercase motor switching? It should be a brief zip noise.

2002 F350 SRW Crew Cab Shorty Lariat
Torredor Red - 7.3, Viper 5701
Silverline 4" TB Exhaust
Power Hungry Performance FU Chip
Autometer GS Gauges
md18 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Member

 
speed_racer_801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No noises at all. I looked in the owners manual for a fuse maybe , but didn't find any that could be out, but did learn that there are two 4WD relays, is there a way to check them before replacing them?
speed_racer_801 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 01:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GoldieStroker944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: scottsbluff,ne
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the switch just pups out of the dash...check where the vaccum hose connects to the transfercase i had that come off of one of mine and had the same prob but could be a back switch too


2003 7.3L
Crew Cab Short box
Lariat
Cowl (functional)hood
315/75-16 wild coutry A/T's
Hypertech power programmer 3
T.S 6pos
stock,high idle,50,75,100,140
AFE stage 1
Foil delete
MBRP Cool Duals 6" tips
Sirius sat radio
GoldieStroker944 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-08-2009, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
Member

 
speed_racer_801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK The back of the switch looks fine, may be something internal, but I cant do anything about that. Does anyone know how to check on the relays under the hood to tell if they need to be replaced? I am hoping that there will be something like a fuse, but have never seen anything like that on a gasser relay.

Can anyone point me to the vaccum hose on the Tcase?
speed_racer_801 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome