To program or not to program - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
View Poll Results: Is a programmer a "must" have?
Yes 5 50.00%
No 5 50.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:09 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kuna (about 20 miles south west of Boise ID)
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question To program or not to program



Hey all... I'm new to the 73 world... I found a Edge Evolution programmer on Craig's list for 135 bucks... Is a programmer something I shouldn't be living without? This seem like a good price after doing some internet research...



I'v got a pyrometer and a Banks 4" exhuast that came with the truck, but I wouldn't turn my nose up at more HP...Event with the stock parameters I LOVE THIS TRUCK!

This is a super forum as well!

Scott
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,469
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A programmer is not a must have, but If you are going to get one, get a PHP or Tony Wildman chip. Edge's are known for toasting E4OD's.......


http://www.powerhungryperformance.com


or for a TW chip : Chips & Programmers


If you get a chip, gauges are a must. Boost, pyro, trannsm,ission temp are the basic ones to get......Stealth sells a package deal with a TW chip and gauges, and Raul at stealth is good people, as well as Corey and Bill at PHP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:31 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kuna (about 20 miles south west of Boise ID)
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks! At the risk of showing my ignorance... E4OD's?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's the earlier 4 speed auto transmission. But I think you have the 4R100. If it's an auto that is.
Also, where is your pyrometer? Behind or before the turbo?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-07-2009, 12:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kuna (about 20 miles south west of Boise ID)
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is an auto, and the truck is a late 99 build...I havent traced the EGT cable, so I don't know where the sesor is... do I want it to be before or after the turbo...?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-07-2009, 01:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea so you have the 4R100. Just a new version of the E4OD.
You want it pre-turbo, on the headers because you aren't necessarily trying to protect the turbo from heat but your engine. Once you get EGTs out of the cylinders of 1250 or more, you start running the risk of melting things internally. Short bursts are ok but the longer you run above that temp, the more chance you have of a failure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-08-2009, 06:40 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kuna (about 20 miles south west of Boise ID)
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Jes.... traced it last night and it is in the header... I'll watch those readings!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sweet you're good to go.
The other gauge you'll probably want is a transmission temp gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Riegel, Ohio
Posts: 5,229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I voted NO. A programmer is not a must have, however a chip is. Look at TW or PHP like stated before. Edge is a no-no
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-08-2009, 09:06 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,355
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
i would def program it but... i wouldnt put the edge on it.. go with a custom tuned chip like a TW, DP or PHP... make sure you put a trans temp gauge and boost as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors