lube shop nightmare - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: baltimore, MD
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
lube shop nightmare

I got my truck service the other day at a lube shop (oil filter, fuel filter,tranny filter) To make a long story short they reused the transmission pan gasket and put 5 qrts back in the tranny after they dropped the pan.

After i found out they used 5 qrts i checked the level and saw nothing on the stick so i added a couple qrts and fluid started pouring out of the pan were the gasket is.

I called them they said bring it back they'll fix it but there saying it only holds 6 qrts in the pan and i was over filling it.

So my question is, were they supossed to reuse the rubber gasket on the pan, and was 5 qrts enough after they drained the pan?

Truck: early 99 F350 4x4 7.3 automatic

Last edited by SideSwipe; 11-28-2009 at 09:14 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:06 AM
I am that hot

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 1,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to superxcrewfx4 Send a message via Yahoo to superxcrewfx4
Um well first off it takes 15ish quarts of oil, so you are 10 shy and your engine should be not running all that well or at all
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: baltimore, MD
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by superxcrewfx4 View Post
Um well first off it takes 15ish quarts of oil, so you are 10 shy and your engine should be not running all that well or at all
Oh crap sorry, ill edit that. I was talking about my tranny fluid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:11 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ya 5 qts is not even close for the trans. However the trans pan gasket is in fact reusable. They could have very easily damaged your trans by not filling it fully. Out of curiosity I wonder how much fluid they drained.

I would be pissed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:13 AM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
Hes talkin about tranny fluid.

The gasket is reusable. The pan holds i think 8 quarts, not certain on that though.

Stuff like this is also why i do all my own work. Those lube places tend to hire dumbasses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:14 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I wonder if they bothered to flush the lines or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:15 AM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRonning1984 View Post
I wonder if they bothered to flush the lines or not.
I highly doubt it, probably just dropped the pan, new filter and refill.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:17 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I am sure they didnt from what i am hearing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:18 AM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
Thats usually sufficient though, you dont' need to flush the whole system every time. As long as they do it right though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:20 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I do it just for piece of mind.

Where is this shop at Sideswipe?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors