alternator - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rocky,Georgia
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alternator

how do you change a alternator on a 7.3?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:56 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Diesel View Post
how do you change a alternator on a 7.3?
I'm not trying to be a jerk, Red Diesel, but they're pretty self explanatory. Take off your serp belt with a 1/2" breaker bar by inserting it into the fitting on the belt tensioner, unhook the wiring harness, unbolt the alt., & remove. Since you're not replacing your serp belt(right?), you don't have to remove your upper rad hose, just let the serp belt hang, reinstall the new alt.(reverse of removal) & you're set.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-22-2009, 03:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rocky,Georgia
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i was just checking because i have never done it before, was just wondering how to loosen the belt. and also should i get a aftermarket alternator since i am running a powerful stereo, 1500 watts.

Last edited by Red_Diesel; 11-22-2009 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:02 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Diesel View Post
i was just checking because i have never done it before, was just wondering how to loosen the belt.
If you look @ your tensioner, there's a fitting for a 1/2" ratchet. Use a 1/2" breaker bar with a long handle & I believe you push the bar to the driver's side & the belt will be loose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:19 PM
Oilfield Trash

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station, TX
Posts: 26,302
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
yep cory stated what needs done. are ya getting it rebuilt or putting a new one on?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rocky,Georgia
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Putting a new one on, thinking about gettin aftermarket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-22-2009, 07:11 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You'll be fine with the stock alternator and 1500w. I ran my 3000w system on the stock alternator for a few months before upgrading to a 200a. Still looks like my lights are shutting off at night, only other difference is I don't see a 50RPM drop at idle when the bass hits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-22-2009, 07:55 PM
<< Representin with INK
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Heber Utah
Posts: 498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you dont have enough of a capacitor in your system, either multiple or one really big one. That is the only way you will ever cure your headlights from dimming. Your stereo pulls a direct draw from wherever its hooked to when it romps them air waves. If you have it running through a capicitor the energy gets stored there and when the bass hits hard it pulls from the cap instead of the power source like a battery. The OE alternators are pretty good on the 7.3 psd's, unless you get a really good deal on aftermarket vs OE then I would say its not needed. I would say spend a hundred bucks or so and buy a nice capacitor so your headlights stop dimmin also You dont need huge wattage to bump, Im runnin a mere 800 with a custom ported box and two p-1s and I hit at 137 DBs according to the guys at the stereo competition a few months back . Its all about sound waves and tuning them to work in harmony with its enviroment! lol stereos are a science in there own!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors