New here! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2009, 03:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New here!

Hey guys, new here to the site. Here's the deal, I'm a Firefighter and fulltime student, just turned 19. I run a mowing company and i've been pulling my 14' trailer with my 99 F-150. Well I bought another stander this year so now im pullin 3 standers on my trailer and im goin through gas like there's no tomorrow. The ford has 175,xxx on it which im surprised it's lasted that long. I maintain all my vehicles, oil changes, brakes, all that good stuff.lol. I've always wanted a diesel and a buddy of mine from the FD would sell me his 01 F-250 w/ the 7.3 for $7k. It has about 210,000 on. He does all his maintaince for it himself. He has had 0 problems with the motor. He just dropped in a brand new tranny(larger than the stock one) and a brand new larger cooler for it. He's runnin 5" exhaust with a 6" tip. It's a very nice truck from what i've seen while were working @ the FD. I am new to this and I was just looking for some insight on this. Thanks!

Jeff
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-21-2009, 03:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

The only diesel expierence i have is drivin the fire trucks.
Old 11-21-2009, 03:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

id say go for it. Its seems to be a good price and the 7.3s are getting harder and harder to come by.
Old 11-21-2009, 03:59 PM

an 01 for 7k...if its clean and all checks out mechanicaly ud be crazy not to buy it...once you tow with a diesel you will never go back to a gas truck..for loads under 8k i rarely ever see a decrease in my fuel millage
Old 11-21-2009, 03:59 PM