4x4 Dash Light always on when truck is in 4x2 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 11-20-2009, 09:57 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
jamdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 Dash Light always on when truck is in 4x2

If someone else has had this problem and fixed it, what was it? I'm looking for a place to start.

The "4x4" dummy light on my dash is always on. Sometimes the "low range" is on, but it is usually dimmer (I can see it's barely on at night). The light does not flicker or anything when I put the truck in four wheel drive. The 4X4 system is working fine. The four wheel drive works fine when I engage it, and also disengages when I shift it out. The low range works fine too.

The truck is:
2000 F-350 Crew/LB
120k miles
Auto trans
Manual transfer case with a 4x4 shifter lever on the floor
Manual locking hubs

Thanks!

jamdallen
jamdallen is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
jamdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmmm...No replies...Do I have a funky non-typical problem?

Jamdallen
jamdallen is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 09:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GoldieStroker944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: scottsbluff,ne
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my 01 did that when i got it...it would always stay on no matter what i did with the switch...i got underneth the truck where the vacuum line connects on the transfer case and it was almost completly unplugged i plugged it back in and never had another problem might start with all the vac lines its a start anyway


2003 7.3L
Crew Cab Short box
Lariat
Cowl (functional)hood
315/75-16 wild coutry A/T's
Hypertech power programmer 3
T.S 6pos
stock,high idle,50,75,100,140
AFE stage 1
Foil delete
MBRP Cool Duals 6" tips
Sirius sat radio
GoldieStroker944 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 10:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm pretty sure he doesn't have the vacuum lines on his, its the shift on the floor system. Check all your electrical connections on your transfercase, its probably a corroded terminal.

2002 F350 SRW Crew Cab Shorty Lariat
Torredor Red - 7.3, Viper 5701
Silverline 4" TB Exhaust
Power Hungry Performance FU Chip
Autometer GS Gauges
md18 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 10:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GoldieStroker944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: scottsbluff,ne
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well none the less check ALL connections electrical and vaccum cause i still think it has something to do with engaging it?? but not sure


2003 7.3L
Crew Cab Short box
Lariat
Cowl (functional)hood
315/75-16 wild coutry A/T's
Hypertech power programmer 3
T.S 6pos
stock,high idle,50,75,100,140
AFE stage 1
Foil delete
MBRP Cool Duals 6" tips
Sirius sat radio
GoldieStroker944 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 10:38 AM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 14,968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Thanks: 76
Thanked 455 Times in 439 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Never mind - I just read that it's a 4x2.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck: Ol' Guy Garage
Tow Toy: Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80

Last edited by SuperCrutyPS; 11-21-2009 at 10:55 AM.
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
jamdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The truck is a 4X4. What I meant in the thread title is that the 4X4 light is on even though the truck is shifted into two wheel drive.

I can't see any wires/connectors going to the transfer case. Anybody got a clue where the wires are located? I don't think there are vacuum lines since it is a manual shift.
jamdallen is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 12:00 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Check the shift module on. It is located under the dash behind the glove box on the passenger side. At least on my 2002 that is where it is located. It is held in place by two 10 mm nuts and 7mm bolt. It has 3 wire harnesses going to it. Should have a sticker on it that states super duty 4x4.


Oh and there is no vaccuum lines going to the t-case. It has one vent on the top and that is it. But there is no vaccuum lines at all on the T-case.

The only vaccuum lines that are part of the 4wheeldrive system is the ones at the hubs on the front axle.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
jamdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do I have a shift module? It is a manual shift on the floor.

Jamdallen
jamdallen is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-21-2009, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
jamdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamdallen View Post
Do I have a shift module? It is a manual shift on the floor.

Jamdallen
I'll check anyway...
jamdallen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome