Relocate Batteries - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 10-06-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Relocate Batteries

I thought I had seen a similar thread, but damned if I can find it, so I'll start another one. I'm still completing the build on my '01 7.3 & I need a little more room under the hood. I want to mount my Optimas in the bed, but it stops pretty much after the mounting part. For anyone who's successfully done this, how/where did you run your battery cables? I've searched through my diesel mags & I only find where they've mounted the batts., they don't show how they run the cables & most of the pics I see you can barely see batt. cable(which is what I'm shooting for). I've got a custom battery tray made up by a friend, but until I can figure a clean way to run these cables, it's gonna sit in my garage for a while. Does anyone have any pics? Did you use the same gauge cable as the stock cables? What did you use for the terminal mounts? Thanks to anyone in advance.

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #2 of 8 Old 10-07-2009, 03:06 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 
NCHornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would just run them along the frame rails, as for cable run heavier cables for sure. I have all my cables made at a local stereo shop, the cables are better than anything I have found in a store and stay flexable. They will install the fittings for you, you just need to measure what length you need, use a spool of wire for your length gauge. Also make sure you obtain a good ground.

NCH

NCH
Proud Father of USAF Airman


2000 F350 DRW,CC,LB, 4X4, Western Hauler Pkg.
Ford AIS/ BTM, FTVB
My CCV MOD, Coolant filter
06 Grill, 05 lights,6.0 trans cooler
Cyro/Hawks, JVC Touchscreen HU, JL C5's, Infinity 800watt amp,
DP tunes, 60 tow/80 e/120 race, on a SCT2 tuner
P3 controller, Brite Box Turbo Lifesaver
KMC Wheels x 4

http://s132.photobucket.com/user/NCH...=recent&page=1

Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Trucks With Generic Tunes
NCHornet is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-07-2009, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHornet View Post
I would just run them along the frame rails, as for cable run heavier cables for sure. I have all my cables made at a local stereo shop, the cables are better than anything I have found in a store and stay flexable. They will install the fittings for you, you just need to measure what length you need, use a spool of wire for your length gauge. Also make sure you obtain a good ground.

NCH
Awesome! Thanks, Kev!

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-07-2009, 01:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DieselNoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eagle Creek, OR
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^^^Like what was said above. I would run them along the frame rails and then up into the bed. It doesn't hurt to use 0 gauge. The way I look at cable, the bigger the better. You never know when you might need to use more than two batteries.

Alex Bauld


2002 F350 Crew Cab Long Bed
- Napa 6637 Intake
2001 F250 Crew Cab Short Bed
- Stock
1995 Acura Integra GSR
-Way too many mods
1991 Acura Integra LS
- CRVtec Swap
- Built from ground up

DieselNoob is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-07-2009, 09:54 PM
Electrical Ogre
 
alberta 7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 12,133
Thanks: 30
Thanked 79 Times in 76 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Usually you can get welding cable cheaper than the overpriced ricer-eurotrash bling-bling stereo stuff. Who cares if it's black? Welding cable is way more flexible, and has a better jacket.
A good welding supply shop should be able to set you up with what you need for cheap, and even crimp the on lugs for you.

Bill

1996 F250 SC/SB 4X4 XLT
1997 F250 RC/SB 2WD project
2008 F350 CC/LB 4X4 DRW Lariat, 3" cow catcher mod
2008 Ranger SC FX4
Quote:
Originally Posted by weareweird69 View Post
If your posting pictures bill, everyone dim their screens, that CAT YELLOW is bright
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordman247365 View Post
Is there anything you DONT take apart and **** with?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH View Post
I still say that those Dodge mirrors have as much business on a OBS Ford as yoga pants have on a fat chick...my .02
alberta 7.3 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-07-2009, 10:36 PM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
might want to look into the wireless energy theory.



jk

frame sounds good. but where in the bed are ya gonna mount em? why not on the frame?

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0





LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/lon...-powerstrokes/
Jarrod B is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-08-2009, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bockhold View Post
frame sounds good. but where in the bed are ya gonna mount em? why not on the frame?
Because I've got a custom, chrome, diamond-plated tray. I don't want the batts. exposed to the elements, either.

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-08-2009, 02:53 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
1/0 is not large enough. The stock starter cable is 2/0, if your going all the way to the bed, you may need to run a 4/0 to the starter depending on length. Use 4 to the solenoid on the passenger side fender where the rest of the truck gets its power.

For my relocation, I am running 4/0 for the starter and 1/0 for everything else. The 1/0 is overkill, but it was conveniently already there from a previous amp setup. I initially attempted to use the 1/0 for everything, including the starter, but the voltage would drop to 8v at the end of the line when trying to start.

If I were to do it again, I would mount the batteries to the outside of the frame.

Dennis at ITP relocated the batteries to the bed on this truck.

JSchuricht is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome