A/C OFF MOD, is there one? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 09-22-2009, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
chrispaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A/C OFF MOD, is there one?

I did a search but didn't pull anything up. I have always hated the fact that you can only turn on the AC in certain modes. Most vehicles and even newer fords have a ac switch that you turn it on in any mode. I did this in my girlfriend's (a Jeep forum told me how) Liberty and it works great, when you want the AC running you press the button and when you don't want it running, yeah its off.. even in defrost. SO basically I would like to install a switch that turns on the AC system when I want it on, not when the HVAC is in a certain mode!

There has to be a way to do it, Has anyone heard of this with our trucks?

Thanks!!

2000 F250 7.3L EX.Cab Short Bed -05 Front end w/ HID's - Leveling shackles - Wicked wheel - Dipricol gauges - FORD AIS intake - Foil Delete - LINE-X Rockers - CCV dump - 315/70/17 BFG A/T with Eagle Alloy 197's - ELC w/ coolant filter and around the belt hose - PHP Hydra - Hpress oil x

On the way--
-Fusion front bumper - ATS 3" fender flares



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrispaine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-22-2009, 04:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
LAPLANT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Flowood MS
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just thinking so you may want to check around but you should be able to intercept the positive wire at the compressor and wire in a switch and if you wired in a three position switch and a relayyoo could have the ac work normaly , be totaly off and be on in any position
but be warn the on in any position would make the compressor run at all times so you would have to turn it off from time to time on long drives or the system will freeze up and not blow cold

F250 auto 7.3 born 2/99
10 inches all springs
20x10 black Ultra Goliaths
38x15.50x20 Kumho Road Venture MTs
built trans with billet converter
6 position resistor mod
Zoodad mod
ccv mod
foil delete
str8 pipe with a 5x30 tip
and some big nuts hangin out back
LAPLANT is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-22-2009, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
chrispaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by LAPLANT View Post
Just thinking so you may want to check around but you should be able to intercept the positive wire at the compressor and wire in a switch and if you wired in a three position switch and a relayyoo could have the ac work normaly , be totaly off and be on in any position
but be warn the on in any position would make the compressor run at all times so you would have to turn it off from time to time on long drives or the system will freeze up and not blow cold
Good idea, I didn't think about a 3way switch !
Also a good point about the freeze up, I wonder if there is a better way... maybe just to fool it thinking it is in defrost but the floor is actually the only vent open...

Now that I think of it it already has the compressor running when it it on bi-level so its really not that big of a deal if you want floor only because you can just shut all the dash vents. Would still be nice not to have to do that, its a dumb setup!

2000 F250 7.3L EX.Cab Short Bed -05 Front end w/ HID's - Leveling shackles - Wicked wheel - Dipricol gauges - FORD AIS intake - Foil Delete - LINE-X Rockers - CCV dump - 315/70/17 BFG A/T with Eagle Alloy 197's - ELC w/ coolant filter and around the belt hose - PHP Hydra - Hpress oil x

On the way--
-Fusion front bumper - ATS 3" fender flares



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrispaine is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-22-2009, 04:33 PM
Govy Magnet

 
zambonimaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Jacksonville NC
Posts: 713
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Agreed that it is a silly set up, I wish I could just blow outside air in the cab instead of either ac or heat. I would suggest using that switch only on certain selections. Although I don't have a wiring diagram infront of me, I wonder if you could do the split for the switch at the selector switch. That way you won't effect the AC and MAX AC selections. That way it would just block the compressor from turning on at the rest of them. As far as it freezing up there should be a check-valve in the compressor to keep that from happening, at least the AC's that the MC uses do.
~Phil

"Initial Success or Total Failure"

2002 F250 SC SB 4x4 7.3ltr
~leveling kit~35/12.5~B&W~MBRP 5"~4 Pod Gauge Pillar ~TW 6 POS~Mag-Hytec~LineX]~KC Long Range (Front)~KC Wide Beam (Rear)~Cobra CB~WW~CFM+~EBPV Delete ~6kHID's~OUO Blocks~3/4" Ubolts~OUO Adjust ladder bars~Full RR system w/ Fuel Bowl Delete~ CCV~BTS TRANNY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
~ 6.0 Tranny Cooler ~ BHOF/Coolant Filter/ Fltr Mags

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2012 Harley Davidson FXDB
2010 Jetta TDI traded for...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2012 Chrysler Town & Country
zambonimaxx is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-23-2009, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
chrispaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When you turn the switch to AC what tells the AC to turn on, is it a contact style? If so that would make it more simple.

2000 F250 7.3L EX.Cab Short Bed -05 Front end w/ HID's - Leveling shackles - Wicked wheel - Dipricol gauges - FORD AIS intake - Foil Delete - LINE-X Rockers - CCV dump - 315/70/17 BFG A/T with Eagle Alloy 197's - ELC w/ coolant filter and around the belt hose - PHP Hydra - Hpress oil x

On the way--
-Fusion front bumper - ATS 3" fender flares



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrispaine is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-23-2009, 11:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
tubular031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if I put my selector switch on vent it will blow air at me and not turn the compressor on.

I guess you could wire up a switch to the plug on the compressor that in one position would connect the wire and in the other break it so no mater what the computer says the connection will be broken. no need to put a 3rd position to force it on all the time. that would be bad to bypass the high/low switches.

Just a basic 01 F350 CCLB SRW -Good from a far but far from good
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tubular031 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-23-2009, 12:00 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
chrispaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubular031 View Post
if I put my selector switch on vent it will blow air at me and not turn the compressor on.

I guess you could wire up a switch to the plug on the compressor that in one position would connect the wire and in the other break it so no mater what the computer says the connection will be broken. no need to put a 3rd position to force it on all the time. that would be bad to bypass the high/low switches.
Yeah, that seems like the most simple way, and yes the 3pos swith with the forced on might be bad.

2000 F250 7.3L EX.Cab Short Bed -05 Front end w/ HID's - Leveling shackles - Wicked wheel - Dipricol gauges - FORD AIS intake - Foil Delete - LINE-X Rockers - CCV dump - 315/70/17 BFG A/T with Eagle Alloy 197's - ELC w/ coolant filter and around the belt hose - PHP Hydra - Hpress oil x

On the way--
-Fusion front bumper - ATS 3" fender flares



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chrispaine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome