Warn Hubs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Warn Hubs

I have a 03 F250 4X4 Manual Transfer Case with the 7.3L Can I switch out the Stock ford Manual Hubs for Warn Hubs? Also I think that because I have a Manual Transfer case and not the electric switch I think that my hubs are not vacume operated. Am I correct? Can someone comfirm for me, I think that when I have my truck in 2WD that there is no power going to the front diff. Am I correct?

Last edited by LPstroker; 02-27-2007 at 04:25 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:26 PM
HardLuck Case of the Year
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 3,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Ditty Send a message via Yahoo to Ditty
Yes, yes you can. It is a HIGHLY recommended upgrade. I've never heard of anyone blowing out a Warn Hub, but I've heard of 100's of folks blowing their stock Ford POS hubs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:34 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine engage when they get power from the axles, not vac operated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What about the rest of my questions? Are my hubs free spinning when I have them on "Free"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:37 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, when in free they have no transfer to the drive line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ramsey
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Superwrtech

To find out if your hus are working jack up the front end and put the hubs in lock position. Turn the wheels and the axel should turn. If it does not the hub is bad. On your truck I dont think the hubs will automatically engage. In the winter I lock mine in for the season and engage the four wheek drive when I need it. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So the free spin hub conversion kit that dynatrac.com sells would probably be for someone that has the electronic transfercase.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ramsey
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Superwrech

Don't know about them but I know that warn makes the best hub.They can repace manual or automatic locking hubs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-28-2007, 10:13 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: michigan
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
lpstroker, i believe that all the psd have vacuum operated hubs. weather manual or auto. transfer case. all u have to do is look at the top of ur spindle and see if u have a line running into the top of it. that is the vac. line for the hubs. warns will hook right up for u.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors