tymar install question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2007, 03:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tymar install question

the DIY thread says to disconnect the batteries for an hour or more. Why do you need to do this? I assume this is to reset something on the computer but I dont know why you would need to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:12 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 1,893
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
welcome to the forum. its a good idea to disconnect because your working right there. dont want to accidently arc the battery, can cause problems withe the ol electrical grid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:33 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I forget the reason now, but the one batt cable was in the way when taking the top off the batt box so it had to come off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I finished the instal today, everything went perfect and only took about 20 minutes. I have a friend that installed a 4" stainless exhaust and it came with extra pipe for a long bed so he cut me a 3" section for my intake. It seems to run a little better and sounds better too. Definitely beats spending $200+ on a name brand.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:26 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sweet! Yeah I had a difficult time making a decision on the tymar or the AFE stage 2. Well I can honestly say I made the right decision for me The other bonus is you don't have to clean and re-oil the filter. I have seen them before and they always seem to look dirty and that just doesn give me a warm fuzzy feeling!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-28-2007, 10:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: so,cal
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Has anyone done the tymar and noticed an oil leak? I did coming from the valley under the turbo so I changed back to stock intake and the leak stopped but I was told that the tymar might be more restrictive than the stock element because when the stocker gets too dirty the same thing happens(oil leak) because of restriction. anyone know for sure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-28-2007, 11:04 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any chance you might have had a bit of a leak from the intake tube, and the leak was just residue from the ccv?

Gord.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-01-2007, 10:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: so,cal
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't think so cause all my clamps were tight and no oil from the bottom of my tubes to show ccv leakage it seems kinda weird I would like to put my tymar back on but want to figure this out first. I've actually switched back and forth twice and same thing has happend but what I did notice with the tymar when I drove hard thats when i noticed the leak, and stock I don't
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:02 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's really strange, I don't really know the cause of that one, but if you do a good cleanup on it and try again, you might be able to at least find the actual location of the leak, and work from there.

Gord.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-02-2007, 08:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: so,cal
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah it's kinda wierd I will just keep tryin and see what happens if anybody has any other input or maybe heard of this type of thing please help..And thanks for the help Gord...if I get it resolved I will let you know what it was.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors