can i run B20 bio diesel in my 99 7.3? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2007, 12:16 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can i run B20 bio diesel in my 99 7.3?

i can get it locally and i think its the only biodiesel here in Hawaii. will it be ok to run in my 7.3 or do i have to do any mods to run it?? im new to the biodiesel thing...any help is appreciated. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2007, 05:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

No mods-that's point of biodiesel, essentially it works just like regular diesel fuel. Plus if you're in Hawaii you shouldn't have any issues with gelling. Biodiesel tends to gel at higher temperatures than conventional diesel, but my guess is those temperatures are rarely seen where you are. I would guess that you could run B90 with no problems. One thing to watch out for is the solvent properties of biodiesel. If you have a fuel tank with lots of deposits and gunk on the insides it can loosen and wash away the deposits which can then clog your fuel filter and leave you stranded. I'd buy 2 or 3 new filters before filling up for the first time and changing the filter at the first sign of any weird hesitation, etc...
Old 02-16-2007, 05:38 AM
I don't know nuttin....