4R100 and ATF question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 04:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 4R100 and ATF question

So, I just bought my first PSD. It's an 01' SuperDuty Lariat. I love the truck btw.

Anyway, I just checked the fluid level and it was running warm while in neutral, and on level ground. I pulled the stick and it was just right at the lowest warm level. I figured I would add some ATF, so I went to my local Wal-Mart and bought some Dexron III

My question is:

Is it alright to just top it off with the good Dexron III, even though I have no knowledge on the history of this transmission? I'm thinking this transmission could have been redone, or replaced already because I have 198,xxx miles on the truck. I just bought it and I have no clue on the truck's history.

I really don't wanna flush the tranny fluid or really even change it for that matter either. It looks clean to start with and it runs fine, so I don't wanna mess with it. I don't want to run it low either, so is it okay just to add a quart or two of the Dexron III?????

My future plans are to add the Tru-Cool trans cooler (add-on to the current cooler). If I do this how much more tranny fluid would it most likely take? And would it be alright just to top it off then too? (Once I get the new cooler installed)???

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-22-2009, 07:38 PM

I would refer to your owners manual for the correct transmission fluid type for the 4R100. Pretty sure you should be running Mercon only, putting in just any trans fluid will most likely damage your tranny.