new HID's. only one working. light for brights always on....... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 7.3L Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
7.3coal roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new HID's. only one working. light for brights always on.......

so i just got these HID's with a ballast and all the goodies. it is also a motorized bulb so that i can keep my high and low beam operation. this is not my first time doing HID's i just need a wiring schematic for a 2000 f250. i dont have access to alldata or ondemand5 since im not in school for another few weeks. one HID works and the ballast makes the humming noise. the other one doesnt make noise and no light. i did shock the **** out of myself trying to test for power and ground to the bulb so i think the ballast is working. and the light for my brights is always on very dim and when i try to turn the actual brights on the light comes on fully and the lights dont change. can someone please send me a schematic.
Thanks
7.3coal roller is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 12-28-2011, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
7.3coal roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
update. got the light to work but there is still the light for the brights on dim all the time and regular when i try to turn on the brights
7.3coal roller is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-31-2011, 07:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
belz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,807
Thanks: 69
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmmmmm. How do u have them wired? I have a similar kit with no issues. Seems like maybe u have some power feeding back to the high beam wire. There should be a relay to power the ballast that gets hooked up to the low beam and then a wire for the high beam on each bulb for the motors.

Belz
CPA Director

belz is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-01-2012, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
7.3coal roller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
had to switch the wires around in the harness. now both lights work......until i hit a bump.....then only one works. i have checked all my connections a million times.
7.3coal roller is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-05-2012, 11:22 AM
Member
 
whitextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just put HIDs in my truck also and both of the bulbs work on low beam I am not sure if they move or not because it is not dark out here yet but my high beam light is also on real dim with only the low beams on. Any suggestions?
whitextreme is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-05-2012, 01:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
belz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,807
Thanks: 69
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7.3coal roller View Post
had to switch the wires around in the harness. now both lights work......until i hit a bump.....then only one works. i have checked all my connections a million times.
That has to be a connection or something isn't working properly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitextreme View Post
I just put HIDs in my truck also and both of the bulbs work on low beam I am not sure if they move or not because it is not dark out here yet but my high beam light is also on real dim with only the low beams on. Any suggestions?
Hmmmm. How are they aired up? I have a set in my truck and flex and have no issues. It has to be in the wiring but its kinda hard without having it in front of me. If you can explain how its hooked up wires and relays, I can then better help.

Belz
CPA Director

belz is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-05-2012, 01:54 PM
Member
 
whitextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is plugged in on the driver side to the factory harness. Goes to the relay, which has power from the battery and ground. That plugs into the ballast and there is a plug for the high beam. Wires run across to the passanger side gets grounded and plugged into the second ballast, high beam wire, and a ground wire.
whitextreme is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-06-2012, 12:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
belz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,807
Thanks: 69
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmmm. Same as my kit. That's weird. What year is the truck? I'll take a look at my wiring this weekend and see if I can spot anything like a diode or something. If u unplug the ballast and have just the relay harness does it still happen?

Belz
CPA Director

belz is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-06-2012, 04:11 AM
Member
 
whitextreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm sorry I posted a reply I guess it never went through. I got it figured out the high beam and ground wires in the aftermarket relay harness were reversed. So yes it definately was back feeding through the wire. Works great now though!
whitextreme is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-06-2012, 11:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
belz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,807
Thanks: 69
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nice. Glad u got it figured out.

Belz
CPA Director

belz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome