Lift and MPG dilemma - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 7.3L Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 02:54 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lift and MPG dilemma

Im new to diesels trying to make up my mind on more lift or staying leveled Currently Im getting around 17.5-19 with stock 265 tires, I would like to move up in tire size for a more aggressive look but I enjoy the decent mpg's I get currently. Ive done some searching and people claim to get between 10 and 18 mpg with 35's depending on tune and the amount of highway driving, I'd like to have a 6 inch lift with 37's but even if i get a PHP Tunner Im sure my mpg would go down alot more than I can afford with that set up. Would a 4 inch lift and 285 tires look decent and give me good mileage? Please chime in so I can make up my mind

2002 f350 6speed only mods so far are intake and exhaust, and I would like to keep 16 mpg average or better after making changes

Last edited by Ranger87; 10-25-2011 at 02:58 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2011, 03:05 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Lifted my 02 cc, lb 6.5" pro compo w/ 37... i'd say i get anywhere between 15 to 17, only mods besides lift are afe bigboost intake and straight pipe stock exhaust... balling on a budget right now. not to mention i live in colorado

Last edited by jkhickcox; 10-25-2011 at 03:06 AM. Reason: left out info
Old 10-25-2011, 04:50 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

i am currently in the process of a 6in lift but stock i was running 285 60 16 goodyear armor tech wrangers or something like that .. if your going to a 4in lift go with 35s the 285s might look a bit small.... it will look better imo 35 12.50s i dont like the crazy wide like 15.50s but its your truck! =] so you get to decide good luck =]
Old 10-25-2011, 05:06 AM