Stock Cab Lights to Flasher? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 7.3L Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stock Cab Lights to Flasher?

I need to get a setup for plowing this winter and don't want to get a magnetic light. I wanted to get the LED cab lights from Atomic LED but I'm not going to be able to drop $250 for lights alone before winter.

Will I be able to grab a flasher from Whelen and hook it up to my existing cab lights? And if I replace the bulbs with LED bulbs will that give me a brighter light? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yeah, you would need a flasher and a couple 5 pin relays
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 30
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If they all run off one wire then one relay and flasher is all u need. U may need just the flasher. Never wired one up so I am not 100% sure. If u put LEDs I think they sell strobe modules for them.


Sent from my fone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If you don't put a relay then you can't use the cab lights under their regular function. For LED's you would use an LED flasher. If you want a diagram of how to wire the lights to the relay I will draw one up. It's really simple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Since the lights are hooked to one wire and I would only need one relay, could I make each light flash at different intervals? Like so:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
No, you would need 2 relays if you wanted it to do something like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 30
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ..::ryan::.. View Post
If you don't put a relay then you can't use the cab lights under their regular function. For LED's you would use an LED flasher. If you want a diagram of how to wire the lights to the relay I will draw one up. It's really simple.
I didn't think about that one. Lol

I'm sure if u use seperate flashers u can make them flash at seperate intervals. It still won't be strobe action but it will work.


Sent from my fone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 30
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Um that was nice but I don't think he just used some flashers to do that. Way to much going on. What kind of flasher are u talking about. I just wanna make sure I understand this correctly.


Sent from my fone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by belz View Post
Um that was nice but I don't think he just used some flashers to do that. Way to much going on. What kind of flasher are u talking about. I just wanna make sure I understand this correctly.


Sent from my fone.
Well this one here has 62 different flash patterns.

Strobes N' More

Trust me, it's very do-able.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 30
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay so like a led strobe flasher. I thought he was talking about low budget like a regular signal flasher.


Sent from my fone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors