DIY 4r100 rebuild? need input on parts - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2014, 05:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DIY 4r100 rebuild? need input on parts

ok i have been looking at different options for another trans since mine is toast. I'd love to have a bts, but im not willing to drop that much money in a 15 year old truck. it would cost 4k to have mine rebuilt at a shop and have it built good. or for 3k go with a factory one from ford with the sounds of a great warrenty but i have heard they are strict on what can be done with the truck performance wise. after all this being said, I am a diesel mechanic so I'm not saying I'm a ford tech but am a CAT tech. I have rebuilt transmissions out of heavy equipment which is mostly larger version. I believe i can rebuild the 4r100 if i get the manual for it. now my question is what parts to buy. i want to build this so i know it will handle some extra hp. one day soon i plan to put 400 to 450 hp at the wheel so i want parts that are best for the conditions. so if you know exactly what kits and parts are best list them. thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-15-2014, 05:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
As for the DIY, there's been a bunch of guys who've done this successfully, here are a couple of links;

http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/99-...-poor-man.html
4R100 Rebuild Manual for the DIY - PowerStrokeArmy
Tranny Upgrade Help, IDK what im doing...

But, as for the "improvements" (case & support mods / machining etc.), I think that's what you're paying for from BTS and others. I'm not sure how much of that you'll be able to find or even be able to do...
Old 07-15-2014, 05:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie