torqe converter locked up help! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2008, 05:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san antonio, tx & long beach MS
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bignasty250
torqe converter locked up help!

well i put it in reverse this mornin and back up and when i put it drive it shut the motor off i fired it up and tried it again and it did the same thing, i put it in four low and tried and it sputtered then took off fine and shut off when i stopped it. i think its the torque coverter staying locked up, is this the problem and how do i fix it, elecrical or mechanical?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Usually the TC needs a ground signal to it to lock. Trace out wire for it and see if sending a ground signal to it all the time. Worth a try.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san antonio, tx & long beach MS
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bignasty250
well i got in it this mornin and i figured why not just try to drive it again, i fired it up and everything worked fine, drove it all day and havent had a problem. should i look into it and get a new torque converter or just keep ridin this one now that its working fine??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have an aftermarket tc that does the same thing in reverse(not very often).....ive ignored it for thousands of miles and i havent seen any sign of it getting worse but im gonna follow this thread cause ive wondered what the deal is too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:37 PM
lifetime member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: jacksonville, florida
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
subscribed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:40 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,538
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to cchase
I would replace it, if its old. when they fail they tend to take your whole trans with them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-29-2008, 01:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: san antonio, tx & long beach MS
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bignasty250
what would be a good TC to get?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:20 PM
lifetime member
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: jacksonville, florida
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i know of a shop in north florida that hand crafts them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
supposedly i have a good one but i dont know.....precision industries lower stall
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-29-2008, 02:28 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I dont think its the TC. Sounds to me like its a loose wire somewhere. Like TODDC said, it needs a ground to lock up from the way I understand it. So trace the wires and see if there is a short its rubbed through and grounding out anywhere.

Also you might check the tech section. One of the guys on here has a very good write up on how to do a manual lock up switch that I plan on doing soon!

Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors