little power in reverse poor acceleration - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2008, 08:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
little power in reverse poor acceleration

I'm new to powerstroke ownership and the board here.

I purchased a 2001 f350 4x4 last week. It seemed to run fine to me when I test drove it. I been running it around and quite please with me purchase.

I guess the new is wearing off and I starting to see the imperfections like when I pull out the truck is sluggesh and doesn't jump off the line. It almosts resembles if you manually had the trans in 2nd gear. The engines doesn't seem to want to make any power off the line.

The second problem I noticed was today when I parked the truck with the front tires off the lot. It was about a 2inch drop. When I put the truck in reverse the engine didn't make enough power to pull back up over the 2 inch drop. I pulled forward and got a little running start....about a foot to get it up and over. I was parked on hill earlier and wanted to back up and again no power in reverse....I had to put it in 4 low to back up.

I tried reverse on the flat to see how it was going fast in reverse and to see if the engine eventually made any power and it did.

The truck has a new garret turbo installed about 3000 miles ago, I know the guy I purchased it from said he was having some trouble with it and took it in to the garage and they said the waste gait wasn't properly adjusted.

I feel like the turbo should be kicking in at lower rpms?

Also is it normal with the truck in neutral when you try to rev the engine slowly it will surge?....it seems hard to feather the engine and build rpm slowly and consistently...almost like gaps in the gas pedal.