Just rebuilt 4R100 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 11-24-2013, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just rebuilt 4R100

Just finished rebuilding a 4r100 for my 99 powerstroke. It is a reman unit, had a year under warranty yet but the po took it to the dealership and they wouldn't warranty it because it had a magtec pan on it.
Anyway, I rebuilt it put it in, everything sealed fine, seems to shift into r and d fine, but when I drive it, it won't shift out of first. It does sometimes and then immediately shifts back into first.

Now this is my first auto trans, I've had zf6, nv4500 and nv5600 before so I'm new to this auto stuff.
Pulled dtc from the edge in the truck and only had p0603, nothing to do with the trans.

Possibly just low fluid since I just had the entire trans apart? I got home and the aux tranny cooler line exploded so I haven't had a chance to run it again, it's 17* here and I don't have a garage.
cyclegrip is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 11-24-2013, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spring Branch TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check out this vid http://youtu.be/waLG0kQD1JA


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Travis T

1999.2"5 F350 4X4 CC 7.3 LWB SuperLift, AIS, Gooseneck, Zoodad, South Texas Outfitters Bumpers, Autoenginuity Ford 4R100HD

2002 F250 2X4 CC SWB (Wife's) Stock except for AIS filter and Gooseneck
cadd is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-26-2013, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Full of fluid, still not shifting
It feels like it wants to up shift and then immediately shifts down you can feel it like really slow down


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
cyclegrip is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-26-2013, 07:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
bigpanther2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: defiance ohio
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check all ur sensors and plugs are in all the way, easy place to start
bigpanther2004 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-28-2013, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pulled the pan off today, it seems like the filter is wrong or the seal for the filter
It doesn't stay tight kinda seems like it flops around


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
cyclegrip is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-28-2013, 05:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
bigpanther2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: defiance ohio
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is this 4x4 or 2wd make sure you have the right filter, also there is a clip kit you can get to hold ur filter in, I've heard with tr deep pans you should run the clip.
bigpanther2004 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-28-2013, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
4x4 and it has a mag pan so I'll have to make sure I get the right one tomorrow


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
cyclegrip is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-28-2013, 08:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
bigpanther2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: defiance ohio
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you have the pan off still pull the accumulator body out. I you changed springs or valve make sure they are in correct, if ya didn't pull it anyway to make sure there are no broken springs. Might be possible you broke a sprag, keep us posted
bigpanther2004 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-29-2013, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Alright so it shifts now, however
It won't shift from 1-2 unless I ease off the throttle
Seems like it skips 3rd unless I press the od off button
No codes still atleast my edge says there isn't even when I'm driving


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
cyclegrip is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome