"THUD!": The Legend Of the 4R100 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2008, 05:20 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
"THUD!": The Legend Of the 4R100

I've been reading a lot of other members having problems with their trannies shifting into OD. Here's what I've got: My trans. shifts fine through all gears until it hits OD. I get a pretty decent "thud" when it shifts into OD. @ 1st, I thought it was because the A/C was on. Then I noticed it with the A/C off. The only trans. mod I have is the Banks TransCommand. I have no flashing "OFF" light on the gear selector, & the tranny itself runs relatively cool, even on really hot days(150-180degrees). Am I running into choppy waters?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-16-2008, 04:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The "armpit" of Texas
Posts: 736
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-17-2008, 09:54 AM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you Motown Fire. Here's another update: It only 'thuds' under normal acceleration. The times it's completely undetected is either going up a hill or when I'm standing on it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-17-2008, 10:44 AM
aluminum tubing engineer
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: sacramento
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i hope its normal...mines been doing it for almost 40,ooo miles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-17-2008, 10:50 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Around
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bts

call bts and ask brian or cale and they would help you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-17-2008, 10:54 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,154
Thanks: 116
Thanked 104 Times in 95 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Sounds like the converter is locking up really hard. See what happens without the trans command
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:21 AM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Sounds like the converter is locking up really hard. See what happens without the trans command
That's exactly what my dad said. I'll have to look for a beefier converter. I had seen some BTS torque converters on the forum. I think I'm gonna start looking now! I actually tried disconnecting the TransCommand(the unit comes with a jumper harness). It still does it, of course, with the oh-so-fun stock shifts.

Last edited by RadarRider; 08-18-2008 at 07:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:52 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,154
Thanks: 116
Thanked 104 Times in 95 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Is the 6 gun set to stock when you are doing this as well. That thing has alot to do with your trans problems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-18-2008, 09:46 AM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,534
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to cchase


sounds to me like a hard tc lock up do to programing...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-18-2008, 01:28 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Is the 6 gun set to stock when you are doing this as well. That thing has alot to do with your trans problems
My everyday driving is strictly done in L2 on the Six-Gun. When it comes to racing, I only use L6. I never use stock(L1) or any of the other settings between L2 & L6. To tell you the truth, the Six-Gun is going to become a pyrometer & nothing else after I get the TW chip:burnout!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors