Tranny wont shift to higher gear, now wont go into gear?!?! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2013, 07:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Tranny wont shift to higher gear, now wont go into gear?!?!

Today on my way home from running some errands I noticed my truck wasn't shifting gears.

I was prolly in 3rd or 4th gear and it just kept revving up, it wouldn't go into a higher gear.

I came up to stop light and all of a sudden my truck just kept revving up.

It would not go into any gear except for park.

No rear, drive, 1st or 2nd gear. Just kept revving up. Some guys helped me push the truck into a gas station.(the whole time the truck is still running)
Once in the parking lot me and my friend were just looking all over the truck and then I put in into drive and it goes into drive.

We pull out of the gas station to try to get home cause I just lived down the road. As soon as I got out of the parking lot and started going down this hill it just stops again. Came out of gear. No drive, rear nothing.

SO I just finished gliding down the hill until I made my turn. Got to my street and I stopped the truck, turned it off, turned back on stuck in drive and it went back into gear. Once in my drive way it popped out again and I haven't moved the truck since.

Checked around the engine compartment and didn't notice anything unusual.
Also checked the shifting linkage under the dash and it seemed fine.

Can anyone help me out.

I have a 2003 ford f-250 7.3 turbo diesel rear wheel drive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,466
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Any codes......have you checked for pressure at the pressure port?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 07:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 419
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT Performance, Inc. View Post
Any codes......have you checked for pressure at the pressure port?
My scanner wont work on my truck so cant check for codes.

Haven't checked pressure cause I don't have the right tools for it.

Someone told me about a solenoid on the top of the tranny that may be bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors