Temperature rises when manual hubs locked - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 03:42 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Temperature rises when manual hubs locked

Hey,

I'm fairly new to the diesel world. I've noticed my transmission temperature rises about 45 degrees F when my manual hubs are locked in, whether I am in 4x4 or not. I don't even have to be driving hard, in fact I drive slower and it still climbs. I live in snow country so this isn't a good sign as I'd like to drive through the whole winter with the hubs locked in for convenience. I do believe that either my front wheel bearings or hub assemblies should be replaced because I can wiggle the tire and hear some rubbing at very slow speed and sharp cornering.. would this go hand in hand with the temperature rise or is this a separate problem?

thanks for the help folks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-02-2012, 04:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

This isn't technically an answer, but you should replace your hubs because they are wiggling, and I would never drive with my hubs locked. I accidentally made a long road trip with the front right hub locked - it started sounding like chains dragging across the highway at speed. It's not good for your hubs to be locked an not engaged.

I would be concerned about that heat up, tho. Have you checked your trans fluid and your filter on the trans? Have you checked your diff fluid and gears up front? Even though everything is not engaged, everything is still spinning when your hubs are locked.
Old 11-02-2012, 06:39 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews